Winnipeg Free Press - ONLINE EDITION

Women of Distinction awards see record jump in nominees

  • Print

YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg will be hosting their 36th annual Women of Distinction Awards Gala at the Winnipeg Convention Centre Wednesday, May 2, 2012.

The awards recognize the contributions women make to their communities. The idea for the awards began in Winnipeg in 1977 with YMCA-YWCA’s "Women of the Year" awards. The concept has spread across the country and is held in three locations within Manitoba -- Winnipeg, Brandon and Thompson. The Winnipeg Awards cover all of southeastern Manitoba.

Response to this year’s awards set a new record, with a 60 per cent increase in nominations over last year. A total of 79 women were nominated in the 10 general categories.

The gala is a fundraiser and supporters will be issued a tax-deductible receipt for the donation portion of the ticket cost, roughly $75 - $80. Early-bird ticket prices are $140. After April 13, the price becomes $160.


Nominees by category:



Ms. Sheila Spence

Ms. Gaetanne Sylvester

Ms. Catharine Teichroew

Ms. Jacqueline Traverse


Voluntarism, Advocacy and Community Enhancement

Ms Kenny Daodu

Ms Rena Molinari

Dr. Chau Pham

Ms. Claudette St. Pierre

Ms. Sally Thomas



Ms. Tina Chen

Ms. Shelley Chochinov

Ms. Felicia Olarewaju


Education Training and Mentorship

Ms. Karen Botting

Ms. Linda Campbell

Ms. Cathy Denby

Ms. Susana Hawryshko

Ms. Cheryl Hoffmann

Dr. Zana Lutfiyya

Ms. Usha Mittoo

Ms. Melanie Penner

Ms. Colleen Plumton

Ms. Lori Schellekens


Leadership and Management

Ms. Diane Carriere

Ms. Nicole Chammartin

Ms. Julie Donaldson

Ms. Daryl Dumanski

Ms. Majda Ficko

Ms. Shelly Glover

Ms. Val Harper

Ms. Linda LaFontaine

Dr. Jeannette Montufar

Ms. Annette Osted

Ms. Jennifer Rattray

Dr. Jerry Shrom

Ms. Lorna Turnbull


Public Awareness and Communications

Ms. Ruth Bonneville

Ms. Anna-Celestrya Carr


Science, Technology and the Environment

Ms. Judy Chipperfield

Dr. Maureen Heaman

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg


Wellness, Healthy Living and Recreation

Ms. Nadia El-Gabalawy

Ms. Janice Lukes

Ms. Beth McKechnie

Ms. Melinda Mohammed

Ms. Jan Schmalenberg


Young Woman of Distinction

Ms. Daniela Conci

Ms. Amanda Furst

Ms. Candace Maxymowich

Ms. Jaysa Nachtigall

Ms. Melanie Ngo

Ms. Karlee Sapoznik


Circle of Inspiration

Soroptimist International of Winnipeg

Joy Smith, Dianna Bussey, Diane Redsky

Magdolina (Magdi) Bogos, Cathy Keenan, Diana Rozos


Gerrie Hammond Memorial Award of Promise – plus a $2000 scholarship

Ms. Kayla Barrow

Ms. Kaitlyn Cook

Ms. Marianne Cortes

Ms. Jessica Dmytryk

Ms. Megan Dufrat

Ms. Samantha Graham

Ms. Marie Gravoso

Ms. Nina Huynh

Ms. Victoria Knapp

Ms. Marissa MacCorby

Ms. Cherese Matula

Ms. Emma Mayer

Ms. Briana Pokrant

Ms. Elyssa Rattai

Ms. Alana Robert

Ms. Marie Sereneo

Ms. Jennifer Sun

Ms. Karleen Tarry

Ms. Julie Umali


Prairie Award of Promise -- plus a $2000 scholarship

Ms. Caitlyn Jonsson

Ms. Meagan Kubanek

Ms. Kelby Loeppky

Ms. Robyn Otto

Ms. Kimberlee Reimer

Ms. Ashley Wickens

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Can Steeves or Bowman catch Wasylycia-Leis?

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • JOE.BRYKSA@FREEPRESS.MB.CA Local-(Standup photo)- Humming Around- A female ruby -throated hummingbird fly's through the bee bomb  flowers Friday at the Assiniboine Park English Garden- Nectar from flowers are their main source of food. Hummingbirds wings can beat as fast as 75x times second. Better get a glimpse of them soon the birds fly far south for the winter - from Mexico to South America- JOE BRYKSA/WINNIPEG FREE PRESS- Sept 10, 2009
  • Carolyn Kavanagh(10) had this large dragonfly land on her while spending time at Winnetka Lake, Ontario. photo by Andrea Kavanagh (mom0 show us your summer winnipeg free press

View More Gallery Photos


Have you decided which mayoral candidate will get your vote?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google