Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print



Evan Hunter

has achieved the designation of registered architect from the Manitoba Association of Architects. He is a graduate of the University of Manitoba and practises at Republic Architecture in Winnipeg.


Holli Moncrieff

APR recently joined the CancerCare Manitoba Foundation as director of marketing & communications. Moncrieff was manager of communications and public relations at the Manitoba Museum for seven years. She is also a freelance journalist who writes for various local and national publications.


Susana Schanel

has joined the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra as marketing and communications project manager. Schanel has 14 years of marketing experience across North America.


Sylvie Albert

has been appointed dean of the faculty of business and economics at the University of Winnipeg for a five-year term. Albert joins U of W from Laurentian University, where she has been associate dean of the faculty of management and an associate professor of strategy in the MBA program.


Pamela McFarlane

has been appointed club administrator of the University Women's Club of Winnipeg. McFarlane is a professional photographer and the arts administrator of the Envision arts and music festival. With 25 years in special events and fundraising, she will be working on events, weddings and special occasions, as well as business meetings at the historic Ralph Connor House.


Beverley Briggs

has been appointed kitchen and food services manager at the University Women's Club of Winnipeg. Briggs is trained in commercial food preparation and has worked as a cook for many years.




Herzing College

has been accredited by the Canadian Education and Training Accreditation Commission for 2011, the 27th straight year the Winnipeg college has earned accreditation. Only nine Canadian career colleges are fully accredited by the CETAC.




Canadian Virtual Hospice

announced three of its team members received awards: Dr. Mike Harlos, clinical team leader of the hospice and medical director for the WRHA palliative care program, with the Award of Excellence from the College of Family Physicians of Canada; Rev. Glen Horst, spiritual care adviser, with the Canadian Association of Spiritual Care Award of Excellence in Education; and Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov, Canadian research chair in palliative care and chair of the hospice, with the Manitoba Medical Association Scholastic Award.




CancerCare Manitoba Foundation

2012-13 board: Janice Filmon, O.M., LLD, chairwoman; Robert G. Puchniak, vice-chairman, treasurer and finance; James W. Burns, O.C., O.M., secretary; Dr. Emőke J.E. Szathmáry, C.M., O.M., Ph.D.; Hal Ryckman; Annitta L. Stenning, CancerCare Manitoba Foundation executive director. Directors: Joyce Berry; Keith Boyd; Gary Buckley; Hennie Corrin; Mark Evans, Ph.D.; Doug Harvey; Dr. Sara Israels; Barb Lillie; Paul Mahon; Jeffrey Morton, FCA.; Dr. Arnold Naimark, O.C., O.M.; Glen R. Peters; David Popke; Gregory Tallon; Dr. Dhali Dhaliwal, CancerCare Manitoba president and CEO; Ray McFeetors, director emeritus; Andrew B. Paterson, director emeritus.



2012-13 board: Ryan Clement, chairman; Jude Friesen, vice-chairman/treasurer; George Pasieka, past chairman; Angie McCaughan, Sarah Garba, Candace Maxymowich, Anandakumar Palanichamy, Madelyne Ellis.


University Club of Winnipeg

executive committee for 2012-13: Sylvia Marsh, president; Sandra Millen, vice-president, management; Margaret Morse, vice-president, program; Kathleen Hughes, treasurer; Leona MacDonald, assistant treasurer; Muriel Aboul-Atta, secretary; Celine Kear, past president.


NorWest Co-op Community Health

board for 2012-13: Ivan Sabesky, president; Ken Grove, 1st vice-president; Lisa Stiver, 2nd vice-president; Dan Skwarchuk, treasurer; Andy Morrison, secretary; Linda Ring, Ron Keller, Gerri Hamilton, Emily Reimer, Casie Nishi, Trevor Grafton, Rae Pratt, Kent McQueen, Nicole Ritchot, Ginny Witkowski-Sudlow.


Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra

2012-13 board: Timothy E. Burt (incoming chairman), Jim Carr, Sylvia Cassie, Michael Cox, Arlene Dahl, Dorothy Dobbie, Alan Freeman, Rick Graumann, Dr. Daya Gupta, Gregory Hay, Michael D. Kay, Maureen Kilgour, Rob Kowalchuk, Jackie Lowe, Ed J. Martens, Terry Sargeant, Muriel Smith, Karl Stobbe and Richard Turner. WSO executive director Trudy Schroeder and music director Alexander Mickelthwate are ex officio members.


Got a promotion, appointment or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6, fax 697-7412 or email

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition July 16, 2012 0

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Andrew Ladd talks about his injury

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • KEN GIGLIOTTI / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS / Jan 10  2011 ‚Äì WEB STDUP ‚Äì Frosty morning at -15 degrees C , in pic frost covers the the Nellie McClung statue  on the MB Legislature grounds at 7am
  • June 24, 2012 - 120624  -  Amusement riders on the last day of The Ex Sunday June 24, 2012.    John Woods / Winnipeg Free Press

View More Gallery Photos


Did you watch the Bruce Jenner interview?

View Results

Ads by Google