Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Howard L. Morry

partner at Pitblado Law has received the AV Preeminent rating (the highest possible professional rating) from LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell for the tenth year in a row. Morry has scored a 100 per cent rating each year in both legal ability and ethical standards in a confidential polling of members of the bar and judiciary. The AV Preeminent rating is the pinnacle of excellence earned through a strenuous Peer Review Rating process that is managed and monitored by Martindale-Hubbell, the world's oldest and most trusted legal resource.

Corey Sawatzky

has joined Legacy Bowes Group as director of sales and as associate partner executive search. Sawatzky comes to LBG with a strong background in sales, sales management, customer service and operations training. He is well experienced in working with senior managers in financial services and the competitive automotive market and brings a strong customer service focus to his role along with success in building market share in very competitive markets.


Diamond Jubilee Awards

were recently presented at ceremonies at the Manitoba legislature and Government House. Award recipients: Ronald Buzahora, Robert (Bob) Roehle, and Janice Lukes, were presented with Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals for community service. Lukes has been an active promoter of active transportation and local improvement initiatives. Buzahora and Roehle have been variously active in social housing issues, educational programs, community development, the farmers market and the newly established Business Improvement Zone.


The Coalition of Manitoba Motorcycle Groups Inc.

has announced its board of directors: Doug Houghton, president; Brian Segal, vice-president; Shawna Chartrand, treasurer. Directors: Greg Puddifant; Jerry Volkers; Linda Thomas and Grant Parsons.

Providence University College and Seminary

elected its Board of Governors for 2012-2013: Dr. Roger Gingerich chairman; Lorn Bergstresser, vice chairman; David Johnson president; David Baker, Harold Barg, Richard Bergman, Grant Driedger, Toni Dueck, Beverly Dyck, Esther Dyck, Ron Friesen, Dr. Dennis Giesbrecht, Dr. Gordon Giesbrecht, Dr. Nicholas Greco (senate representative), Libby Hanna, Alix Jean-Paul, Howard Jolly, Ron Koslowsky, John Laugesen (staff representative), Les Lindquist, Burton Loewen, Rev. James Scobbie, Don Streuber, and Rev. David Widdicombe.

The Associates of the Asper School of Business

are pleased to announce their 2012/2013 board of directors: Bill Baines, AML Wireless Networks; Al Babiuk, Loewen; Michael Benarroch, I.H. Asper School of Business; James Cohen, Gendis Inc.; Bryan Crowley, Consider the Possibilities Inc.; Joe Cyr, Price Industries Limited; Diane Gray, CentrePort Canada; Debra Jonasson-Young, Jonasson-Young Advisory Services; John Kearsey, University of Manitoba; Moe Levy, The Asper Foundation; Howard Morry, Pitblado; John Proven, CONVIRON; Shirley Render, Western Canada Aviation Museum; Colin Ryan, BMO Nesbitt Burns; Paul Soubry, New Flyer Industries; Charlie Spiring, National Bank Financial Wealth Management; Arni Thorsteinson, Shelter Canadian Properties; Gary Timlick, The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Co.; Brent Trepel, Ben Moss; Don Whitmore, Vector Construction Ltd., YA Representatives: Tracy Graham and Alan Goddard.

Manitoba Electrical League

has selected its 2012-2013 board of directors: Richard Robertson, president; Darren Shultz, past president; Leona Herzog, vice president; Rob Isaac, treasurer; Mark Rosen, secretary; Brian Adamyk, Peter Bernatsky, Louis Boisjoli, Lawrence Ferchoff, Donna Green, Len Johnson, Henry Loewen. Greg MacDonald, John Nunes, Gary Pestaluky, Lou Sperber, Gary Wlasichuk.

The Manitoba Chamber Orchestra

is proud to announce that it has elected its 2012-13 board of directors: Jesús Ángel Miguel Garca, president; William Neville, vice-president; Ingrid Moehlmann, past president; Gil Forrest, treasurer; Alice MacKenzie, secretary; Jim Chapryk, member at large. Members: Lynne Axworthy, Chloe Carpenter, Judith Hall, Joan Hardy, Sue Irving, Suzanne Kennelly, Helen LaRue, Elaine Margolis, Sandi Mielitz, Beryl Peters, Rishi Ramberran, Nicola Schaefer, Moti Shojania, Alison Thiessen, Elizabeth Tippett-Pope, Faye Warren.

Got a promotion, appointment or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6, fax 204-697-7412 or email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition November 26, 2012 B7

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets speak after 4-2 loss to Ducks in Game 1

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • JJOE.BRYKSA@FREEPRESS.MB.CA Local-Postcard  Day-Horror frost and fog created a most beautiful setting at Assiniboine Park Thursday morning in WInnipeg- Enviroent Canada says the fog will lifet this morning and will see a high of -7C-  JOE BRYKSA/WINNIPEG FREE PRESS- Feb 18, 2010
  • Marc Gallant / Winnipeg Free Press. Local- Deer in Canola field near Elma, Manitoba. 060706.

View More Gallery Photos


Do you agree with the sale of the Canadian Wheat Board to foreign companies?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google