Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Dr. Pawan Singal

was given the K.G. Nair Oration Award by the Indian Society of Hypertension. It is given to an individual for his/her lifetime achievement and international recognition in their area of expertise.

Judy Mathieson, FCMA

has teamed with Denise Zaporazan & Associates to provide and support leadership development and training for its Customized Learning Centre Program. Mathieson has extensive experience in strategic leadership and business development and is a skilled facilitator, coach and teacher. She is a certified management accountant, a fellow of the Institute of Canadian Bankers and holds a certificate in adult continuing education from the University of Manitoba and a master's of business administration degree from Dalhousie University.

Betty Babulal, Ray Karasevich and Ricky Lawrence

have joined the board of directors at Career Trek Inc. They add their skills and talents to the dedicated team of professionals who oversee the career development work of the organization. Their wealth of knowledge and experience will enrich the pool of expertise that the board or directors can call on to govern the organization.


Thompson Dorfman Sweatman

are are pleased to announce the following 23 lawyers have been named to the 2013 edition of the Best Lawyers in Canada: Richard H.G. Adams (real estate law), Robert J.M. Adkins (aboriginal law and real estate law), Don Baizley, QC (sports law), Donald G. Douglas (insolvency and financial restructuring), James G. Edmond (insurance law and construction law), Adrian B. Frost (labour and employment law), A. Blair Graham, QC (alternative dispute resolution), Robin M. Kersey (labour and employment law), Keith D. LaBossiere (labour and employment law), Jan Lederman (leveraged buyouts and private equity law and mergers & acquisitions law), Kenneth S. Maclean (alternative dispute resolution and labour and employment law), Barry N. MacTavish (securities law), Gordon A. McKinnon (insurance law), Albina P. Moran (real estate law), E. William Olson, QC (alternative dispute resolution, bet-the-company litigation, construction law, corporate and commercial litigation, insurance law and labour and employment law), Chrys Pappas, QC (banking law, corporate law and real estate law), Sacha R. Paul (aboriginal law), William G. Percy (aboriginal law), Jeffrey D. Pniowsky (tax law), James A. Ripley (banking law), Sheryl A. Rosenberg (environmental law), P. Michael Sinclair, QC (corporate law and securities law), John D. Stefaniuk (environmental law and natural resources law).


The Manitoba Library Trustees Association

announces the presentation of two Trustee of Distinction Awards at their annual general meeting. This award recognizes outstanding participation in the advancement of public libraries and trusteeship in Manitoba. Conrad Artibise has had extensive involvement in the Dauphin Public Library, the Parkland Regional Library Board and as a board member of the Manitoba Library Trustees Association. During his library trustee career, Artibise was most proud of being co-chairman of the building expansion committee at the Dauphin Public Library. Grace Schellenberg, former councillor in the City of Winkler and former trustee of the South Central Regional Library Board, was instrumental in campaigning and advocating for building the new public library in Winkler and its neighbouring Bethel Heritage Park and was honoured as Winkler's Citizen of the Year in 1987.

Cordell Jacks & Tamara Baker

directors of Winnipeg-based international not-for-profit iDE's global water, sanitation and hygiene division, will accept the 2012 Dubai International Award for Best Practices, which is supported by UN-Habitat. The award recognizes the impact of improving the living environment of people, particularly the poor and disadvantaged, through their work in Cambodia, having developed sustainable business models and technologies for the dissemination of water and sanitation to poor rural communities. Jacks and Baker are Asper School of Business graduates from the University of Manitoba.


Camerata Nova Inc.

Winnipeg's experimental vocal group, founded in 1996, is pleased to announce its executive and board members for 2013: Sandra Mielitz, president; Karine Beaudette, vice-president; Martha Blouw, secretary; Cindy Singer, treasurer. members: Andrew Balfour, Ross Brownlee, Ian Cameron, Janet Charron, Catherine Green, Fred Ford, Ellen Henry, Angela Neufeld, Alan Schroeder, Sally Sweatman, Michael Thompson.

Got a promotion, appointment or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6, fax 204-697-7412 or email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition December 24, 2012 B9

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets hope to give fans a good show for first home playoff game in 19 years

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • JOE BRYKSA/WINNIPEG FREE PRESS Local-(Standup photo)- A wood duck swims through the water with fall refections in Kildonan Park Thursday afternoon.
  • A nesting goose sits on the roof of GoodLife Fitness at 143 Nature Way near Kenaston as the morning sun comes up Wednesday morning- See Bryksa’s Goose a Day Photo- Day 07- Web crop-May 09, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)

View More Gallery Photos


Do you think the Jets will win Game 4 on Wednesday?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google