Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Dr. Jino Distasio

takes on the new role of associate vice-president, research and innovation, at the University of Winnipeg. Distasio was director of the University of Winnipeg's high-profile Institute of Urban Studies and a member of the department of geography in the faculty of science. Under his leadership during the past decade, the institute has grown significantly and developed a reputation as one of Canada's leading centres of urban research.


Hilderman Thomas Frank Cram Landscape Architecture Planning

congratulates Nataáa Juck on her recent retirement and her Manitoba Association of Landscape Architecture Life Member Award. Juck has been with HTFC for 28 years, contributing to a diverse body of work and bringing her passion for design, horticulture, biology and ecology to each project. During her time as an associate of HTFC, she was a mentor and inspiration to many staff members, passing on her extensive knowledge to new generations of landscape architects, designers and technicians. In the community, Juck is an active member of the Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects (MALA), a volunteer for the Herb Society of Manitoba and a lecturer on landscape design and ecology. She was honoured with a Life Member Award at the MALA annual general meeting for her significant contribution and excellence in the field.

Renaissance Executive Forums

is pleased to announce Meshack Kusa, CEO of Yomm Beverages Inc., makers of Hibiscus Tea, has become a member of one of its advisory boards. Executive Forums provides an exclusive advisory-board service for presidents, CEOs and business owners. This "proven process" is designed to leverage the experience and expertise of the individual members to positively impact the speed and quality of effective decision-making.

Hilderman Thomas Frank Cram Landscape Architecture Planning

is pleased to announce the appointment of Maureen Krauss as associate. Krauss holds degrees in arts and fine arts from University of Manitoba and draws on nearly two decades of experience in visitor services, marketing, development, operations and public programming at FortWhyte Alive. She has been employed at HTFC since 2010, where she specializes in public consultation and long-range development planning, with a focus on cultural resource management.


Winnipeg Airports Authority

is pleased to be globally recognized with a fifth-place Best Airport by Size Award and a first-place ranking in the Best Improvement: North America category as part of ACI's 2012 Airport Service Quality Awards.

Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov's

book, Dignity Therapy: Final Words for Final Days, has received the 2012 Prose Award for Clinical Medicine. The Prose Awards are the American publishers' awards for professional and scholarly excellence. Chochinov is director of the Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit, a Canada Research Chair in Palliative Care and a Distinguished Professor at the University of Manitoba.


The Institute of Public Administration of Canada (Manitoba Region)

announced its recently elected board of directors: chairman Matthew Wiebe, CGA; vice-chairwoman Cynthia Foreman; treasurer Marilyn Johnstone; secretary Mikaela Robinson-Shearer. Chairs: Jessica Natiuk, Rob McLeary, Kathie Hardy, Kerry McQuarrie Smith, Malcolm Bird, Angela Trunzo. Directors: Debra Woodgate, Pauline Day, Bob Chrismas, Alisa Ramrattan. Regional director/national board: Shannon Roe; past chair/nominating chair: Shannon Roe; Student Association Manitoba Public Administration Representatives TBD.

The Winnipeg Central Business Association

has announced the following appointments to the board of directors for 2013: president Tiana Diehl,; past president Gerald Dey, Pembina Insurance Services; treasurer Dale McDermid, CGA. Board members at large: Ron Lowe, Corydon Cycle; Scott Toderash, 100% Helpdesk Ltd.; Doug Blaylock, Investors Group Financial Services; Rick Hamilton, Winnipeg Moving and Storage; Carl Hutman, Get-About Auto Repairs.

Glendale Golf & Country Club

has selected its board of directors for 2013. David Glass, president; Vittorio Rossi, 1st vice-president; Don Bain, secretary; Mel Verin, treasurer; Michael Kay, past president. Members at large: Adam Levene, Armik Babakhanians, Brad Bokhaut, Catherine Fleming, Carol Jeffries, Glen Gessell, Dr. Lanny Jacob, Murray Hill, Dr. Robert Diamond, Shaaron Weinstein, Tyler Kearns and Laurie Gorenstein as club captain.

Got a promotion, appointment or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6, 204-697-7292 or email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition March 18, 2013 B5

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Donny 'Golden Boy' Lalonde returns home

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • July 1, 2012 - 120701  -   Canada Day fireworks at The Forks from the Norwood Bridge Sunday, July 1, 2012.    John Woods / Winnipeg Free Press
  • A pelican comes in for a landing Wednesday afternoon on the Red River at Lockport, Manitoba - Standup photo- June 27, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)

View More Gallery Photos


Should the August civic holiday be renamed to honour Terry Fox?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google