Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Dr. Patricia Martens

was presented with the R.D. Defries Award by the Canadian Public Health Association at the association's national annual conference. The R.D. Defries Award is the highest award of the Canadian Public Health Association, presented annually in the form of a medal and citation for outstanding contributions in the broad field of public health and carries with it an honorary life membership. Dr. Martens is a professor in the faculty of medicine's department of community health sciences at the University of Manitoba, as well as the director of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy, an internationally acclaimed university-based research centre focusing on population-based health services, public health and population health research.



Dr. Daya Gupta

received the Lieutenant Governor's iCARE award from Lt.-Gov. Philip S. Lee at the annual meeting and volunteer-appreciation night for CNIB. The Lieutenant Governor's Award for ICARE was established in February 2012 and is presented annually in consultation with CNIB to recognize a Manitoba eye-care professional who has demonstrated innovative and/or unique contributions to eye health in Manitoba, who works within their associate body and who has made significant contributions to the community at large. Dr. Gupta is an ophthalmologist and eye surgeon who has performed over 40,000 surgeries. He pioneered out-patient surgery and small-incision surgery for cataracts and is well-known for his work at the Gupta Eye Centre. Dr. Gupta and his wife, Dr. Chander K. Gupta together established a lasting legacy to support blind and partially sighted Manitobans by contributing $1,000,000 to CNIB in Manitoba.



The Manitoba Council for International Education

is pleased to announce its executive council for 2013/14: president, Karen Strobel (St. James-Assiniboia School Division); vice-president, Gary Gervais (Heartland International English School); treasurer, Susan Deane (International College of Manitoba); secretary, Randy Langstaff (Mountain View School Division). Marketing chairs: Nigel Dixon (University of Winnipeg), Carmelle Mulaire (Universit© de Saint-Boniface). Members-at-large: Lisa Kachulak-Babey (University of Manitoba); Stevenson Alloso (Red River College); David Rowland (Brandon University).


The Manitoba Association of Parliamentarians

is pleased to announce the recent election to its board of directors for 2013-2014: Don Freese RP, president; Bonnie Taylor, vice-president; Jim Taylor, secretary; Heather Mackenzie RP, treasurer. Directors: Bev Doern, Phil Fenez, Dawn Kelley, Roger Woloshyn.


The Grace Hospital Auxiliary

has selected its new executive council for 2013/14: president -- Bill Matthews, vice-president -- Margaret MacLennan, secretary -- Marion Parsons, treasurer -- Wesley Matthews, past president -- Gervin Greasley. Chair: Ollie Bate, Lee Johnson, Christine McDermid, Rosemary Taylor; correspondance/membership -- Pat Stuart; foundation representative -- Ollie Bate; member-at-large -- Sandra Findley.


Got a promotion or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, Man., R2X 3B6, email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition June 17, 2013 D10

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Exciting changes expected for Saturday's Santa Claus parade

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • A Yellow-bellied Sapsucker hangs out on a birch tree in St. Vital. The Yellow-bellied Sapsucker is considered a keystone species. Other species take advantage of the holes that the birds make in trees. A group of sapsuckers are collectively known as a
  • A baby Red Panda in her area at the Zoo. International Red Panda Day is Saturday September 15th and the Assiniboine Park Zoo will be celebrating in a big way! The Zoo is home to three red pandas - Rufus, Rouge and their cub who was born on June 30 of this year. The female cub has yet to be named and the Assiniboine Park Zoo is asking the community to help. September 14, 2012  BORIS MINKEVICH / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS

View More Gallery Photos


How much does the premier's apology mean to you?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google