Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Dr. Patricia Martens

was presented with the R.D. Defries Award by the Canadian Public Health Association at the association's national annual conference. The R.D. Defries Award is the highest award of the Canadian Public Health Association, presented annually in the form of a medal and citation for outstanding contributions in the broad field of public health and carries with it an honorary life membership. Dr. Martens is a professor in the faculty of medicine's department of community health sciences at the University of Manitoba, as well as the director of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy, an internationally acclaimed university-based research centre focusing on population-based health services, public health and population health research.



Dr. Daya Gupta

received the Lieutenant Governor's iCARE award from Lt.-Gov. Philip S. Lee at the annual meeting and volunteer-appreciation night for CNIB. The Lieutenant Governor's Award for ICARE was established in February 2012 and is presented annually in consultation with CNIB to recognize a Manitoba eye-care professional who has demonstrated innovative and/or unique contributions to eye health in Manitoba, who works within their associate body and who has made significant contributions to the community at large. Dr. Gupta is an ophthalmologist and eye surgeon who has performed over 40,000 surgeries. He pioneered out-patient surgery and small-incision surgery for cataracts and is well-known for his work at the Gupta Eye Centre. Dr. Gupta and his wife, Dr. Chander K. Gupta together established a lasting legacy to support blind and partially sighted Manitobans by contributing $1,000,000 to CNIB in Manitoba.



The Manitoba Council for International Education

is pleased to announce its executive council for 2013/14: president, Karen Strobel (St. James-Assiniboia School Division); vice-president, Gary Gervais (Heartland International English School); treasurer, Susan Deane (International College of Manitoba); secretary, Randy Langstaff (Mountain View School Division). Marketing chairs: Nigel Dixon (University of Winnipeg), Carmelle Mulaire (Universit© de Saint-Boniface). Members-at-large: Lisa Kachulak-Babey (University of Manitoba); Stevenson Alloso (Red River College); David Rowland (Brandon University).


The Manitoba Association of Parliamentarians

is pleased to announce the recent election to its board of directors for 2013-2014: Don Freese RP, president; Bonnie Taylor, vice-president; Jim Taylor, secretary; Heather Mackenzie RP, treasurer. Directors: Bev Doern, Phil Fenez, Dawn Kelley, Roger Woloshyn.


The Grace Hospital Auxiliary

has selected its new executive council for 2013/14: president -- Bill Matthews, vice-president -- Margaret MacLennan, secretary -- Marion Parsons, treasurer -- Wesley Matthews, past president -- Gervin Greasley. Chair: Ollie Bate, Lee Johnson, Christine McDermid, Rosemary Taylor; correspondance/membership -- Pat Stuart; foundation representative -- Ollie Bate; member-at-large -- Sandra Findley.


Got a promotion or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, Man., R2X 3B6, email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition June 17, 2013 D10

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets fans take Anaheim by storm

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • Two Canadian geese perch themselves for a perfect view looking at the surroundings from the top of a railway bridge near Lombard Ave and Waterfront Drive in downtown Winnipeg- Standup photo- May 01, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)
  • JOE.BRYKSA@FREEPRESS.MB.CA Local-(  Standup photo)-    A butterfly looks for nector on a lily Tuesday afternoon in Wolseley-JOE BRYKSA/WINNIPEG FREE PRESS- June 22, 2010

View More Gallery Photos


Do you agree with the sale of the Canadian Wheat Board to foreign companies?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google