Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Mariette J. Chartier, RN, PhD,

has been presented with the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal for her extensive contributions to the academic and research communities. Dr. Chartier is a research scientist at the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy and an assistant professor in the department of community health sciences, faculty of medicine, University of Manitoba. She is currently overseeing a province-wide mental-health promotion project, funded by a Canadian public health agency, for at-risk families in Manitoba.


Karen Fonseth

chief executive officer of DASCH (Direct Action In Support of Community Housing), one of the largest providers in Manitoba of residential housing for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal of Honour.


Dr. Madhav Sinha, P.Eng.

president of the Canadian Society for Quality, is the first Canadian to have the title of academician emeritus conferred upon him by the International Academy for Quality for his lifetime achievement and four decades of leadership in advancing the quality-management body of knowledge and growing the field of quality as a new discipline and a profession in Canada and abroad. IAQ is a Milwaukee-based think-tank organization of the world's elite group of quality-management experts whose members, known as academicians, are elected in limited numbers from among the best, most active and experienced protagonists of quality in the world.



The International Institute for Sustainable Development

has appointed Grace Mota, CA, treasurer and chief financial officer. Mota has been IISD's accounting and finance manager for the past six years.



The Jewish Foundation of Manitoba

has announced Joseph J. Wilder, QC, as its new president. The foundation also welcomes the following new board members: Yhetta M. Gold, CM, OM (board of governors representative), Mark Lomow, Aaron Margolis, Jeff Norton, Rocky Pollack, Freda Steel, Syd Thompson, Pam Wener and Richard L. Yaffe. Executive members: Anita Wortzman, Dr. Eric Winograd, Steven J. Kroft, Celia (Ceci) Gorlick, QC, Sherman Greenberg, and Larry Vickar. Returning members: Michael Averbach, Cynthia Hiebert-Simkin, Israel Ludwig, Howard Morry and Michelle Weinberg.


The Lions Housing Centre

is pleased to announce its 2013-14 board of directors: president Don Brown; past president Rick Marrin; vice-president Brian Gagnon; treasurer Rick Pinchin. Directors: Rob McLachlan, Hannon Bell, Ernie Jones and Doug Blaylock. Executive director Laurel Ann Kalipar.


WAG board of governors

for 2013-14 are as follows: president, Brian Bowman (partner, Pitblado Law); past president, Naomi Z. Levine (lawyer). Chairs: Kevin Donnelly (senior vice-president and general manager, MTS Centre, True North Sports & Entertainment Ltd.); Alex Robinson (business development manager, Graham Construction); Hans Andersen (senior manager audit and assurance group, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP); Naomi Z. Levine (lawyer); Tom Carson (senior fellow and director, Canada West Foundation); president, Volunteer associates, Judy Kaprowy; Doneta Brotchie (FUNdamentals Creative Ventures). Ex-officio (WAG director & CEO) Stephen Borys. Members at large: Ernest Cholakis (dentist, Cholakis Dental Group); Hennie Corrin, Curwin Friesen (CEO, Friesens Corp.), Margo Goodhand (former editor of the Winnipeg Free Press), Dwight MacAuley (chief of protocol, Government of Manitoba), Scott McCulloch, Ovide Mercredi, James A. Ripley (lawyer, Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP); WAG Foundation Inc. appointment Tom Carson (senior fellow and director, Canada West Foundation); Province of Manitoba appointment, Manju Lodha (artist, creative writer and multicultural/multifaith educator and learner); Valerie Shantz (Council on Post-Secondary Education); City of Winnipeg appointment, Paula Havixbeck (city councillor, Charleswood-Tuxedo ward).


The Manitoba Print Industry Association

is pleased to announce its 2013-14 board of directors: president, Rob Young, Pollard Banknote; vice-president, Gord Boultbee, Harris Printing; past president, Glenn Buffie - Derksen Printers. Directors: Bob Harvie, Prolific Graphics; Jim Macklin, Winpak; Andrea Read, Transcontinental; Tony Kasdorf, Standard Press; Herb Vielhaber, Cascades Boxboard; Mark Davis, Corporate Source; Greg Ward, Ward's Printing; Jonathan Leech, Harris Printing. MPIA would like to thank retiring board members for their time and expertise: Laurie Guderyan, Heidelberg Canada; Al Alexandruk, Prolific Graphics; Ron Wood, CP Printing Solutions; and Allan Brooks, LightVisions.

Got a promotion or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, Man., R2X 3B6; email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition July 15, 2013 B6

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Selinger addresses stadium lawsuit

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • Goose sits in high grass near Marion Friday afternoon for cover -See Bryksa 30 Day goose challenge- Day 18 - May 25, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)
  • PHIL HOSSACK / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS 060710 The full moon rises above the prairie south of Winnipeg Monday evening.

View More Gallery Photos


Did you watch the Bruce Jenner interview?

View Results

Ads by Google