Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Kennis Fung

will be managing the events surrounding the centennial year of the faculty of law at the University of Manitoba. She has extensive event-management and marketing experience for organizations such as the University of Western Ontario, University of Michigan, the Winnipeg Santa Claus Parade and the IABC Manitoba Chapter.


Denise Zaporzan FCMA

president of Denise Zaporzan & Associates, has earned her Balanced Scorecard Professional designation from the Balanced Scorecard Institute in conjunction with the George Washington University College of Professional Studies. Balanced Scorecard Professional is an intensive program that includes training on how to build, implement, manage and sustain balanced scorecard planning and strategic-management systems.



HMA Chartered Accountants

with offices in Winnipeg and The Pas, have joined the Collins Barrow network. They will now go by the name Collins Barrow HMA.


Yes! Winnipeg

Stephanie Muller is now business development professional responsible for agribusiness and transportation, and Samantha Owsianski is now business development co-ordinator at Yes! Winnipeg. Yes! Winnipeg, an initiative of Economic Development Winnipeg, works to create jobs by proactively attracting new businesses here as well as assisting existing businesses to expand and local entrepreneurs to launch new businesses.


SageTea Group

a leading-edge software development company, is partnering with technology incubator the Eureka Project in their Smartpark offices.


Aboriginal Peoples Television Network

wishes to recognize and congratulate APTN director of human resources John Stott on attaining his certified mentor practitioner-international certification for mentoring designation. Stott is only the second person in the world to achieve this designation. He is a certified human resource professional and an active member of the Human Resource Management Association of Manitoba. Stott is a mentor with the HRMAM human resources mentoring program and mentors HR professionals within and outside APTN.


McKim Communications Group Ltd.

welcomes a new addition to the agency. Danielle Rice has joined the company as senior director, client services. Rice will lead the agency's team of account directors and managers. She received a bachelor's degree in English from the University of Winnipeg and has spent more than 17 years in the advertising industry. She previously worked at J. Walter Thompson in Toronto as a group-account director and more recently as the director of marketing at the Canadian Centre for Child Protection.



Victoria Sopik and Jennifer Nashmi

co-founders of Kids & Company, won the RBC Momentum Award as part of the prestigious RBC Canadian Women Entrepreneur Awards. The RBC Momentum Award recognizes entrepreneurs who have overcome obstacles and capitalized on opportunities to deliver growth of 10 per cent or more year-over-year for more than three years.



Transportation Options Network for Seniors

has elected its new board of directors and officers for 2013-14: Lionel Guerard, chairman; Harry Paine, vice-chairman; Connie Newman, treasurer; Verena Menec, secretary; Doug Newberry, Gerry Rheault, Susan Sader, Monica Grocholski, Margaret Barbour, Cailin Gagnon, Charlene Dunning, Gina Sylvester, Madeline Kohut, Jonathan Borland, Vicki Toews, board members; and Pam McConnell, program co-ordinator.

The Canadian Association of Professional Speakers

Manitoba chapter, has elected its board of directors for 2014: Rolande Kirouac, president; Dianne McCoy, president-elect; John Hindle, past president; Noreen Kolesar, membership chair; Anders Boulanger, logistics chair; Anne Coleshaw-Echols, communications chair; Laurie Barkman, special-events chair; Lila Larson, secretary; Charlene Hiebert, treasurer; Stephanie Staples, member at large.


The Manitoba Chapter of the Canadian Public Works Association

is pleased to announce the 2014 chapter executive and board of directors: president Steve Blayney, GSC; past president Burton Mikolayenko, P. Eng., KGS Group; president-elect Kas Zurek, P. Eng., City of Winnipeg; treasurer Bonnie Konzelman, P. Eng., City of Winnipeg; secretary Alexis Wilcott, E.I.T., KGS Group; House of Delegates representative & CPWA board of directors Bill Grabowecky, City of Winnipeg. Directors: Rob Loudfoot, P. Eng., City of Winnipeg, Jim Berezowsky, City of Winnipeg, Nancy Windjack, City of Winnipeg, Joel Martens, CET, Bayview Construction Ltd., Mike Neill, Manitoba Infrastructure & Transportation, Ron Watson, P.Eng., Hugh Munro Construction Ltd., Mark Wiese, McAsphalt Industries Ltd.


Appraisal Institute of Canada, Manitoba Association

is pleased to announce its 2013-14 members of provincial council: Eric Krueger, AACI, P. App., president; Dan Diachun, AACI, P. App., president-elect; Deana Halladay, CRA, treasurer; Gordon Daman, AACI, P. App., past president; Surinder Pal, AACI, P. App., national director. Directors: Gerry Lachance, AACI, P. App; Jason Schellenberg, AACI, P. App; Kurt Wright, AACI, P. App; Willson Shih, AACI, P. App.;Executive Director, Pamela Wylie.


Got a promotion or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6; email:

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition December 16, 2013 B5

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Paul Maurice addresses media at end of 13/14 season

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • A young goose   reaches for long strands of grass Friday night near McGillvary Blvd-See Bryksa 30 Day goose challenge- Day 19 - May 23, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)
  • KEN GIGLIOTTI  WINNIPEG FREE PRESS / July 23 2009 - 090723 - Bart Kives story - Harry Lazarenko Annual River Bank Tour - receding water from summer rains and erosion  damage by flood  and ice  during spring flooding -  Red River , Lyndale Dr. damage to tree roots , river bank damage  , high water marks after 2009 Flood - POY

View More Gallery Photos


Do you agree with the province’s crackdown on flavoured tobacco products?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google