Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Jerry Maslowsky has been appointed CEO of Variety, the Children's Charity of Manitoba. Maslowsky spent 15 years with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers as vice-president of marketing and has a long background in marketing with the Pan American Games and CJOB.


Bison Transport's Rob Wells has been named Driver of the Year through the Canadian Trucking Alliance and Volvo Canada. The annual Driver of the Year contest identifies and honours the best men and women travelling the roads today.



The Winnipeg Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors recognizes the following individuals who have recently attained either the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) or Certified Risk Management Assurance (CRMA) designation: Janice Dungca, CIA, CRMA, CCSA, Acklands Grainger, Inc.; Shawna Graham-Gross, CIA, Manitoba Agricultural Services Corp.; David Hammerback, CIA, CRMA, CA, consultant; Maria Lim, CIA, CMA, Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries.



The Manitoba Chapter, CaGBC is pleased to announce Dudley Thompson of Prairie Architects as the Lifetime Achievement Award recipient at their annual general meeting. A longtime advocate of sustainability, Thompson demonstrates leadership, innovation and inspiration deserving of the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg is this year's recipient of the Dr. John M. Bowman Memorial Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation Award. Established in 1994, the foundation supports the advancement of knowledge in all fields, and it derives funds for this purpose from royalties arising from the sale of serums and medicinal formulae.


The Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation

recognizes outstanding researchers in seven categories who are in the early stages of their careers and who display exceptional innovation, leadership and promise in their respective fields. This years' recipients are: Belay Ayele (plant science); Minna Rose Chung (Desautels Faculty of Music); Shawn Clark (engineering); Hari Bapuji (business administration); Kirk McManus (medicine); Hee-Jung Serenity Joo (English, film and theatre); Emmanuel Ho (pharmacy).


Insurance Brokers Association of Manitoba

2013 award winners: CAIB Highest Mark George E. Wilson Award, Ruth Aucoin, MIG Insurance.


Insurance Brokers Association of Manitoba/Manitoba Public Insurance

2013 FOI Highest Mark Award, Ethan Heidebrecht, Lakeview Insurance.



North Winnipeg Credit Union has elected its board of directors for 2014-15: Sophia Kachor ,chairwoman; Nicholas Chubenko, vice-chairman; Orest Deneka, secretary. Directors: Ihor Gawrachynsky, Ostap Hawaleshka, Olena Lyubachenko, Maxim Paches, Steven Werhun and Eugene Waskiw.


Dr. Tamara Buchel, executive director of the Manitoba College of Family Physicians is pleased to announce the election of its new executive committee for 2014-15: president, Dr. Susan Fair; past president, Dr. Paul Sawchuk; president-elect, Dr. Elaine Csupak; treasurer, Dr. Deirdre O'Flaherty; secretary, Dr. Ainslie Mihalchuk; member at large, urban, Dr. Lori Ebbeling-Treon; member at large, rural, Dr. Ali Mohajerani; first five years in practice, Dr. Kiet Do; resident first year, Dr Leon Waye; resident second year, Dr. Ian Alexander; medical student, Wilfrid Chan.

The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba council has elected its new executive committee: president, Glenda Marsh of Brandon; vice-president, Dinah Santos of Winnipeg; executive treasurer, Jennifer Ludwig of Brandon and past president, Kyle MacNair of Carman.

Athena Leadership is pleased to announce its 2014-15 board of directors: president, Lindy Norris, Q Power Communications; vice-president, Dana Oftedal, Red River Mutual; treasurer, Vanessa Kunderman, London Life; secretary, Ashley Monette, MTS Allstream Inc; director, funding, Kayla Dickin, MTS Allstream Inc; director, PR & communications, Lisa Pitura, Manitoba Public Insurance; director, philanthropy, Lana Bakun, MTS Allstream Inc.


PMI Manitoba has elected its board of directors for 2014-15: Connie Lemoine, president; Kyle Molotkin, vice-president; Sandy Pott, programs; Amanda Bernier, professional development; Debra Wutke, marketing; Simon Clayton, communications; David Ho, membership; Dan Klaas, treasurer; Scott Tye, secretary; Victor Kolynchuk, past president.


Red River Co-op has elected its board of directors, officers and committee chairpersons for the coming year: Gordon Machej, president; Dale Riddell, vice-president; Marlene Boersch, secretary; Ward Weisensel, chairman; Bruce Froebe, vice-chairman of the audit committee. The nomination/governance committee will be chaired by Dale Riddell ,with Marlene Boersch, vice-chairwoman. The board's community relations committee will be chaired by Dale Riddell, with Marcel Daeninck as vice-chairman.

Got a promotion or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6; email


Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition May 20, 2014 B7

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets fan gets inked

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • MIKE.DEAL@FREEPRESS.MB.CA 100615 - Tuesday, June 15th, 2010 The Mane Attraction - Lions are back at the Assiniboine Park Zoo. Xerxes a 3-year-old male African Lion rests in the shade of a tree in his new enclosure at the old Giant Panda building.  MIKE DEAL / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS
  • A young goose   reaches for long strands of grass Friday night near McGillvary Blvd-See Bryksa 30 Day goose challenge- Day 19 - May 23, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)

View More Gallery Photos


Do you agree with the sale of the Canadian Wheat Board to foreign companies?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google