Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Toledo Foodservice

sales manager Cole Young is proud to announce sales executives Barry Rooney and Barry Lecuyer recently joined Randy Young as graduates of CAB MBA. Certified Angus Beef LLC (CAB) Master's of the Brand Advantages (MBA) is an extensive, hands-on advanced degree in beef -- "from pasture to plate."


Ä Votre Santé -- To Your Health and Marie-Claire Sabourin, RMT

are pleased to announce we will be moving to a ground-floor clinic in August. Crescentwood-area clients will no longer have to climb stairs to receive massage-therapy treatments. Our new location will be at 104-897 Corydon Ave., across the street from our old location.


Imperial Properties

a leading property-management firm serving Winnipeg and the surrounding area, has welcomed its 40th condominium property into its rapidly growing management portfolio. The firm has been managing its own properties since 2007, and in 2010 began offering third-party management services, specializing in condominiums. This month, Imperial Properties began managing the Oz Condos, a 25-unit community at 90 Bole St.


The partners of Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

congratulate Scott Christiansen, Russell Dufault, Catherine Hamilton, Kevin Jensen, Stephen Porco and Nicholas Woelcke on their calls to the Manitoba Bar and welcome each of them as new associate lawyers at TDS Law.


Cambridge Mercantile Group

recently received two major industry honours, the 2013 Deutsche Bank Award for Straight-Through-Processing Excellence and a ranking on the Profit 500 List of Canada's Fastest-Growing Companies. Each is a unique appraisal and both are highly regarded. Cambridge Mercantile proudly operates a growing Winnipeg branch office in the heart of Manitoba's financial capital at Portage and Main.



Janice Lukes

resident of St. Norbert, is the recipient of the 2014 Presidents' Council Award. This award, presented to Lukes on behalf of the Manitoba School Boards Association recognizes her significant contributions to public education in the areas of leadership and community service. The Presidents' Council Award recognizes her work in the development of natural playgrounds, environmental drainage, improving safety around school zones and increasing the numbers of children walking and biking to school.


Nora Murdock

a member of The PRHouse was awarded the Knowledge Keepers Award for an aboriginal person who has contributed to education throughout their lifetime.


The Manitoba Child Care Association

has announced its 2014 award recipients: leader of the year: Bernadette Rozybowski, volunteers of the year: Kisa MacIsaac; & Janice Delf; educaring award: Oak River Kids Club and Oak River School; friend of child care: Marc Battle; Dr. Gretta Brown Scholarship: Khalil Chouayekh, Université de Saint-Boniface and Leah Edmonds, Red River College.


Kish Modha

president of Mondetta Charity Foundation, was awarded Humanitarian of the Year from the Indo-Canadian Chamber of Commerce at at its annual gala in Toronto. As a founding member of MCF, Modha has tirelessly striven to relieve suffering and poverty in his birth country of Uganda, as well as neighbouring Kenya, where he grew up. Since acquiring charitable status in 2006, MCF has made invaluable contributions at Kamwokya Primary School in Kampala, Uganda, including the construction of a new library and kitchen, a playground structure and a feeding program that has served more than two million meals to date.


Manitoba Professional Truck Driving Championship

winners are as follows: straight truck: Matthias Pieper (Bison Transport); single-single: Brian Hrabarchuk (Canadian Freightways); single-tandem: Ronald Poirier (TST Overland Express); tandem-tandem: Denis Roberts (TST Overland Express); super B train: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises). Other event winners: J.O. Dutton Award: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises); first-time entrant: Jerry Brodoway (Searcy Trucking); team award: Bison Transport; Bjornson Memorial: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises); grand champion: Denis Roberts (TST Overland Express).The 10 Industry Excellence recipients for 2013: Owen Smulders (Arnold Bros. Transport), James McKibbon (Trappers Transport), Clayton Hamill (Bison Transport), Norman Frechette (Arnold Bros. Transport), Perry Moffatt (RTM Transport), Frank Kornelsen (Bison Transport), Wayne McRae (Arnold Bros. Transport), Gideon Tunmer (Trappers Transport), Ester Nemeth (Bison Transport) and Jonathan Ternovetsky (Arnold Bros. Transport). The Manitoba Trucking Association and Volvo Trucks Canada are pleased to announce this year's Manitoba Driver of the Year is James McKibbon, of Trappers Transport.



The Women's Health Research Foundation of Canada

is pleased to announce its 2014-2015 board of directors: Dr. Kelli Berzuk, president; Dr. Silvia Alessi-Severini, past president; Dr. Ratna Bose, vice-president; Carleen McKay, treasurer and Dr. Donna Chow, secretary. Members-at-large are: Erica Chandler, Kristel Coldwell, Dr. Sheri Fandrey, Pamela Hadder, Susan Ketchen, Jennifer Leach, Pamela Mann, Laurie McPherson, Dr. Lynn Scruby, Kendra-Ann Seenandan-Sookdeo, Dr. Brenna Shearer, and Chrissy Troy.


The Manitoba Child Care Association

has elected its 2014/15 board of directors: Caryn LaFleche, president; April Kalyniuk, president-elect; Jodie Kehl, past-president; Sheila Argue, secretary-treasurer; Wanda Bruenig, director of board operations; Janice Delf, director of public policy; Tami Karsin, director of branch services; Fernanda Hodgson; Lois Johnson; Tracy Cosser; Corine Anderson.


Got a promotion or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6; email

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition June 30, 2014 B7

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets players discuss outcome of Game 3 and hopes for Game 4

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • Marc Gallant / Winnipeg Free Press.  Local- (Standup Photo). Watcher in the woods. A young deer peers from the forest while eating leaves by Cricket Drive in Assiniboine Park. A group of eight deer were seen in the park. 060508.
  • BORIS MINKEVICH / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS  070527 The 21st Annual Teddy Bears' Picnic at Assiniboine Park. The Orlan Ukrainian Dancers perform on stage.

View More Gallery Photos


What do you think of the government's announcement that there will be no balanced provincial budet until 2018?

View Results

Ads by Google