Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

11 more added to Manitoba honour roll

  • Print

A prominent business leader, a former chief justice and an internationally acclaimed author head the list of 11 recipients of the province's highest honour -- the Order of Manitoba.

"Those to be inducted this July represent an inspiring array of talent and expertise, compassion and commitment, and an overriding dedication to improving the quality of people's lives in Manitoba, in Canada and around the world," Lt.-Gov. Philip Lee, chancellor of the order, said in a statement Friday.

The Order of Manitoba honours Manitobans who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in their field and have added to the social, cultural or economic well-being of Manitoba and its residents.

This year's recipients are:

-- Sanford (Sandy) Riley, president and CEO of Richardson Financial Group, whose legacy of excellence spans the worlds of business, sport, education and community service;

-- Richard J. Scott, former chief justice of Manitoba, who made a profound mark on the administration of justice in Manitoba and was a national leader on judicial independence, ethical conduct of judges and access to justice;

-- Miriam Toews, a Steinbach writer whose novels have garnered international acclaim;

-- David Chartrand, president of the Manitoba Metis Federation, for promoting issues of social justice and advancing the cause of the Metis Nation;

-- Dr. Francis Patrick Doyle, who was instrumental in the creation of a health-care industry in Ste. Anne and has significantly contributed to health-care strategies and reforms at the provincial and national levels;

-- Olga Fuga, who has made an outstanding contribution to both her Winnipeg and Ukrainian-Canadian communities through her extensive public and volunteer service;

-- Helen Granger Young, an internationally renowned artist, whose paintings, sculptures and monuments have enriched the cultural and historical fabric of Manitoba and Canada;

-- George Nicholos Heshka, principal of Sisler High School, visionary and inspirational administrator and educator dedicated to the inner-city;

-- Dr. Tse Li Luk, physician and award-winning photographer, whose volunteer service has greatly benefited the Chinese-Canadian community;

-- Diane Redsky, a nationally recognized community leader, who has made significant contributions to improve the lives of women, children and Winnipeg's aboriginals;

-- Dr. Allan Ronald, one of Canada's foremost experts in infectious diseases, who is internationally respected for his pioneering work with HIV-AIDS in Africa;

-- Ray St. Germain, a celebrated recording artist, performer, producer, author, televison and radio host, and proud supporter of M©tis and aboriginal culture, and;

-- Eleanor Woitowicz, a retired Wabowden school teacher, who was the driving force behind a school gardening project designed to promote healthy eating and sustainability and is now emulated in other Manitoba communities and recognized internationally.

Order of Manitoba recipients are selected by an independent advisory council that evaluates nominees and recommends up to 12 candidates each year to the chancellor. Once inducted, members may use the initials O.M. after their names.

This year's investiture will take place at a July 15 ceremony at the Manitoba Legislative Building.

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition May 11, 2013 A14

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Lawless in the Morning: Former NHLer Jeff O'Neill, Montreal Canadiens and help for the Jets

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • A Yellow-bellied Sapsucker hangs out on a birch tree in St. Vital. The Yellow-bellied Sapsucker is considered a keystone species. Other species take advantage of the holes that the birds make in trees. A group of sapsuckers are collectively known as a
  • A Great Horned Owl that was caught up in some soccer nets in Shamrock Park in Southdale on November 16th was rehabilitated and returned to the the city park behind Shamrock School and released this afternoon. Sequence of the release. December 4, 2012  BORIS MINKEVICH / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS

View More Gallery Photos


Will the closure of Future Shop affect your shopping?

View Results

Ads by Google