Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Manitoba Movers

  • Print


Regine King

has been appointed assistant professor at the University of Manitoba Faculty of Social Work. King's area of specialization is cross-cultural mental health.


Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

welcomes Brandi Field, Karolina M. Dec and Trish Goulet as new associate lawyers at TDS Law. Field's practice is focused on intellectual property and Internet law; labour and employment law; and wills and estates; Dec's on litigation, with a focus on tax law and commercial law; and Goulet's on aboriginal law, civil litigation and natural resources and energy.

Innovate Manitoba

has appointed Douglas Buchanan as vice-president, commercialization. Buchanan is a professor in electrical and computer engineering at the University of Manitoba and holds a Canada Research chair in microelectronic materials. Prior to joining the university, he was a researcher at IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center in New York State. He has been seconded to Innovate Manitoba for an initial period of one year.


Esther Blum and Colleen Watters

have been awarded the University of Manitoba Faculty of Social Work Helen Mann 50th Anniversary Award. The award acknowledges those who have made significant contributions to the field of social work.


Y.E.S. Manitoba

2012-13 board: chair: Kim Wentz, VP, Marketing and Communications, Cambrian Credit Union; vice chair/treasurer: Gary Magorel, retired; secretary: Angela Bye, senior project leader, Public Service Commission. Directors: Anthony Augustine, executive director, Manitoba WorkinfoNET; Julie DeVoin, communications co-ordinator, Province of Manitoba; Art Jonasson, Rotary Club of Winnipeg; Lori Olson, senior human resource coordinator, Great-West Life; Norm Podolski, Rotary Club of Winnipeg.

Entreprises Riel

executive and board for 2012-13: Serge Balcaen, Raymond Beaudry, Kevin Betzold, vice-chair, Rémi Bisson, secretary-treasurer, Brian Denysuik, Paul d'Eschambault, Aurèle Foidart, Rolande Kirouac, Ginette Lavack Walters, Anita Malbranck, André Massicotte, chair, Roger Robidoux.

Manitoba Association of Education Technology Leaders

2012-13 executive committee: Kim Melvin, president, Louis Riel School Division; Ed Friesen, vice-president, Hanover S.D.; Rob Carnegie, past-president, St. James-Assiniboia S.D.; Clarke Hagan, membership and financial officer, Louis Riel S.D.; Andy McKiel, communication officer, St. James-Assiniboia S.D. Members-at-large: Craig Cuddy, Prairie Spirit S.D.; Chris Minarik, Lord Selkirk S.D.; James Reimer, Garden Valley S.D.; Jim Saj, Interlake S.D.

Reh-Fit Centre

board for 2012-13: Albert Krahn, chair; Ken Lee, past chair; Rossana Buonpensiere, vice-chair; David Thompson, treasurer and secretary. Directors: Carol Bellringer, Tim Burt, Gordon Greaves, Matthew Guberman, David Horne, Jo Magnifico, Maggie Wiebe, and Dr. Bruce Roe (appointed by St. Boniface Hospital).

Reh-Fit Foundation

board for 2012-13: Mike Sampson, chair; Audrey Vandewater, vice chair; Catherine Kloepfer, treasurer; Leona MacDonald, secretary. Directors: Sue Boreskie, Barry Brown, Tom Dooley, Judy Holden, David Horne, Albert Krahn, and Ken Lee.

steps (Sair Training and Employment Placement Services)

board for 2012-13: Greg Brodsky, Gerald Kalef, Rolf Martin, Janet Wikstrom, Paul Newman, Carla Frost, Lori Hurtig, Dalvinder Obhi, Jerome Phomin, Heather Ferguson, Heather MacKenzie and Norm Magnusson.

International Association of Administrative Professionals

Winnipeg Chapter has elected the following members to its 2012-13 board: Susan Mar, CAP, president; Janice Fotheringham, CAP, vice-president; Joan Jasper, treasurer; secretary, Trisha Haaksma

Got a promotion, appointment or new contract? Contact Linda Mertin at 1355 Mountain Ave., Winnipeg, MB, R2X 3B6, fax 204-697-7412 or email .

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition October 9, 2012 B5

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


MTS Centre a Winnipeg whiteout as NHL playoffs return after 19 years

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • A monarch butterfly looks for nectar in Mexican sunflowers at Winnipeg's Assiniboine Park Monday afternoon-Monarch butterflys start their annual migration usually in late August with the first sign of frost- Standup photo– August 22, 2011   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)
  • A goose heads for shade in the sunshine Friday afternoon at Woodsworth Park in Winnipeg - Day 26– June 22, 2012   (JOE BRYKSA / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)

View More Gallery Photos


Do you think the Jets will win Game 4 on Wednesday?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google