Winnipeg Free Press - ONLINE EDITION

An MP scorned, an independent made

  • Print

Parliament Hill is all a-Twitter today as news sinks in MP Brent Rathgeber has jumped the good ship Conservative for independent waters.

Rathgeber said his discomfort with the Conservative caucus was more than a year in the making, but the direction of party brass to water down Rathgeber's private members' bill on accountability and transparency was the end of the road.

He quit the Tory caucus late Wednesday night.

The first response of Prime Minister Stephen Harper's office was to say Rathgeber should resign and run in a byelection.

"The people of Edmonton-St. Albert elected a Conservative Member of Parliament. Mr. Rathgeber should resign and run in a byelection," tweeted Andrew MacDougall, director of communications for Harper.

Rathgeber practically scoffed at the suggestion, calling it "a little bit rich" considering Harper's history.

He was referring to the fact two weeks after Harper was elected prime minister in 2006, he wooed Liberal David Emerson over to the Conservatives with the promise of a cabinet seat.

The ink was barely dry on the votes electing Emerson as a Liberal before he was shedding his red Grit jacket in favour of a blue Tory cabinet coat.

As well, last year most of the Conservative caucus voted against an NDP private members' bill which would have required any MP who was elected to represent a particular party, to resign and run in a byelection before he or she could represent another party. The bill, however, would have allowed an MP to leave their caucus and sit as an independent, as Rathgeber has done.

The NDP voted for the bill, while most of the Conservatives and Liberals voted against it. Three Conservatives -- including Manitoba's James Bezan -- voted in favour of it.

The NDP have tried repeatedly to get such a bill passed for a decade. In 1999, Reform MP Mike Scott introduced a similar bill but it went nowhere.

The Manitoba NDP enacted such a law in 2006, with then Premier Gary Doer saying it was in response to reaction over Emerson's floor-crossing and that of Belinda Stronach. In 2005, Stronach was wooed to the Liberals from the Conservartives with a cabinet offer, which helped save the Liberals from going down to defeat over their budget.

Since the last election, two MPs have left the party they were elected with to sit with another party. Quebec MP Lise St-Denis left the NDP in January 2012 to become a Liberal, and Quebec MP Claude Patry, left the NDP this past February to sit with the Bloc Quebecois.

Rathgeber is the third to leave and sit as an independent. Thunder Bay MP Bryce Hyer left the NDP in April 2012 because he refused to vote with the NDP to keep the long-gun registry. He has since said he prefers the freedom being an independent gives him.

In 2011, Edmonton MP Peter Goldring was arrested and charged with refusing a breathalyzer and was forced to leave the Conservative caucus pending the outcome of his case. He is listed by Parliament as an Independent Conservative.

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.

About Mia Rabson

Mia Rabson is a born and bred Winnipegger whose interest in politics seemed clear when she dressed up as Prime Minister Brian Mulroney for Halloween in the 7th grade.

Her interest in writing was no surprise to her parents, who learned early in Mia’s life that no piece of blank paper — or wall, for that matter — was safe in her hands.

She holds an honours BA in English from Queen’s University, a master’s degree in journalism from the University of Western Ontario, and has completed a political journalism fellowship in Washington, D.C. with the Washington Centre for Politics and Journalism.

Prior to working for the Winnipeg Free Press, Mia briefly worked for the Detroit News in the paper’s Washington bureau.

Mia joined the Free Press team in February 2001, and in April 2001 was appointed to the Manitoba legislature bureau. In December 2004, she was appointed bureau chief at the legislature. She became the newspaper’s parliamentary bureau chief/national reporter in Ottawa in January 2008.

In 2008 she was nominated for a Michener Award with a team of reporters from the Free Press for its coverage of the province’s child welfare system.

She counts reliving the invasion at Dieppe, France, with veterans of the failed Second World War expedition and overcoming her fear of heights to touch the Golden Boy statue atop the Legislative Building among her favourite experiences as a reporter.


Ads by Google