Winnipeg Free Press - ONLINE EDITION

Parties busy nominating candidates

  • Print

This fall’s provincial election is still nearly seven months away, but already it’s assured that there will be 10 new faces in the legislature this fall.

Five Progressive Conservative MLAs have decided not to run again:

  • Len Derkach,
  • Rick Borotsik,
  • David Faurschou,
  • Gerald Hawranik,
  • Peter George Dyck

As have four NDPers:

  • Diane McGifford,
  • Marilyn Brick,
  • Gerard Jennissen,
  • George Hickes.

Former Inkster MLA Kevin Lamoureux left the Liberal caucus late last year for a career in federal politics.

Meanwhile, the Conservatives lead all major parties in numbers of candidates nominated so far with 28. The governing New Democrats have nominated 21 candidates, while the Liberals have selected eight.

Below are the candidates nominated by the PCs, NDP and Liberals to date:

Progressive Conservatives

  • Hugh McFadyen (Fort Whyte)
  • Cliff Graydon (Emerson)
  • Blaine Pederson (Midland)
  • Kelvin Goertzen (Steinbach)
  • Cliff Cullen (Spruce Woods)
  • Ron Schuler (St. Paul)
  • Heather Stefanson (Tuxedo)
  • Myrna Driedger (Charleswood)
  • Bonnie Mitchelson (River East)
  • Larry Maguire (Arthur-Virden)
  • Mavis Taillieu (Morris)
  • Stu Briese (Agassiz)
  • Leanne Rowat (Riding Mountain)
  • Ralph Eichler (Lakeside)
  • Kelly de Groot (Kirkfield Park)
  • Marty Morantz (River Heights)
  • Karen Velthuys (St. Norbert)
  • Rochelle Squires (Riel)
  • Jose Thomas (Maples)
  • Jeff Wharton (Gimli)
  • Judy Eastman (Southdale)
  • Scott Gillingham (St. James)
  • Dennis Smook (La Verendrye)
  • Ian Wishart (Portage)
  • Rick Negrych (Burrows)
  • Ian Rabb (Fort Garry-Riverview)
  • David Bell (Selkirk)
  • Dave Powell (Swan River)

*Nomination meetings will be held this week in Interlake (tonight) and Assiniboia (Thursday).

New Democrats

Nomination meetings already held:

  • Assiniboia – Jim Rondeau
  • Charleswood – Paul Beckta
  • Dauphin – Stan Struthers
  • Flin Flon – Clarence Pettersen
  • Fort Garry Riverview – Jamie Allum
  • Fort Richmond – Kerri Irwin Ross
  • Gimli – Peter Bjornson
  • Kildonan – Dave Chomiak
  • Logan- Flor Marcelino
  • Minto- Andrew Swan
  • Radisson – Bidhu Jha
  • Riel – Christine Melnick
  • Rossmere – Erna Braun
  • Seine River – Theresa Oswald
  • Selkirk – Greg Dewar
  • Southdale – Erin Selby
  • Spruce Woods – Cory Szczpaneski
  • St. James –Bonnie Korzeniowski
  • St. Vital – Nancy Allan
  • Swan River – Rosann Wowchuk
  • Wolseley – Rob Altemeyer

NDP Nominations scheduled

  • Brandon East – March 21
  • Brandon West – March 21
  • Dawson Trail – March 12
  • Fort Rouge – March 23
  • Interlake – March 20
  • Kirkfield Park – March 24
  • Point Douglas – March 15
  • Riding Mountain- March 26
  • River East - March 20
  • St. Johns – March 20
  • Thompson – March 19
  • Transcona – March 24


Nominated Candidates:

  • Jon Gerrard, River Heights
  • Marcel Laurendeau, St. Norbert
  • Paul Hesse, Fort Rouge
  • Twyla Motkaluk, Burrows
  • Roldan Sevillano Jr. Tyndall Park
  • Shirley Robert, Radisson
  • Monica Guetre, La Verendrye
  • Harry Wolbert, St. Vital

Scheduled nomination meetings:

  • March 10, Transcona
  • March 16, Point Douglas
  • April 16, Fort Garry-Riverview

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.

About Larry Kusch and Bruce Owen

Larry Kusch has been a journalist for 30 years, the last 20 with the Winnipeg Free Press. His is one of the newspaper's two legislative bureau reporters.

Raised on a Saskatchewan farm, he received an honours journalism degree from Carleton University in 1975.

At the Free Press, Larry has also worked as a general assignment reporter, business reporter, copy editor and assistant city editor.

Bruce Owen joined the Winnipeg Free Press in 1990 after four years working in other media.

He's worked in a number of positions at the Freep, including pet columnist, assistant city editor and police reporter. Right now he takes up space at the Manitoba legislature.

Bruce is one of five reporters who won a National Newspaper Award for the paper’s coverage of the 1997 Flood of the Century. He's also the recipient of the 1996 Volunteer Centre of Winnipeg Media Golden Hand Award and the 1995 Canadian Federation of Humane Societies Media Commendation Award.

In a past life Bruce worked at YMCA-YWCA Camp Stephens. He has a blog where he and others write about camp and the people who worked and played there.

You can also find Bruce on Twitter where he posts and retweets all sorts of stuff.

Ads by Google