Canstar Community News - ONLINE EDITION

Our halls of fame runneth over

  • Print

This week is sport hall of fame week in Manitoba.

The designation is unofficial as it didn’t come from the Province of Manitoba. But, with golf, basketball, hockey and lacrosse holding induction ceremonies between Sept. 30 and Oct. 6, the  communications advisers to Premier Greg Selinger and Eric Robinson, the minister responsible for sport, missed out on the opportunity to recognize many of our province’s top athletes, builders and teams.

The Manitoba Golf Hall of Fame led off the week on Sept. 30 with its 11th induction ceremony at the McPhillips Station Casino. Donna (Patton) Thompson, a three-time Manitoba amateur champion, and the late Mike Pidlaski, who made eight Willingdon Cup teams between 1947 and 1955, entered as players, and Raymond Savard became the first superintendent honoured. Charlie Harvey, who in 1929 became the first president of the Royal Canadian Golf Association from west of Ontario, was inducted posthumously. On a sad note, Joyce Collier, a driving force behind the formation of the golf shrine, died in Portage la Prairie on Sept. 19. She served as its president from 2003 to 2006 and was herself inducted in 2012.  

On Oct. 1 at a media conference held at Sport Manitoba, the Manitoba Lacrosse Hall of Fame announced that players Calvin Paul, Don Paul, Gord Pottinger, Murray Roy and Bruce Wisener will be inducted on Oct. 6 during an afternoon ceremony at the Elmwood Legion. All but Roy, who got his start with the St. Boniface peewees, came out of the box lacrosse factory at Kelvin Community Club. The Pauls played in several national box championships while Pottinger and Roy represented  Manitoba in field lacrosse as well as box. Wisener was the province’s premier box goal scorer during the 1960s. Mike Gilbert and Dave Gillis will be inducted as player-builders while Tom Parker, a leader in the development of the sport as a coach and an administrator at both the provincial and national level, will go in as a builder. The 1985 and 1986 Manitoba senior all-stars that won the Canadian Division II field championship will enter in the team category. Parker coached both teams while Gilbert and Gillis were players.

The hockey and basketball halls hold inductions every second year, and once again the two organizations decided to have their dinners in Winnipeg on the same evening, Oct. 5. More than 600 people will be attending the hockey dinner at Canad Inns Polo Park where six players, seven builders, one official and three teams will be honoured. HOF president Gary Cribbs confirmed that player inductees Bill Mikkelson, Gerry James, Vaughn Karpan and Bill Watson as well as family members representing the late Wayne Fleming and Ed Hoekstra will be attending from outside the province.

HOF chair Ross Wedlake expects a record 250 people will be at the Victoria Inn for basketball’s 30th induction. Players Dan Becker, Norm Froemel, Joey Johnson and Anna Smith and builders Clyde Perry and Russ Roney will be inducted, and two high school provincial champions will be honoured. The Glenlawn Lions girls won the title in 1962, 1965 and 1968 while the Vincent Massey Viking boys from Brandon won the AA championship from 1969 to 1971. Mike Kearns will be travelling from London, U.K. to join his Viking teammates. As part of the celebration, the HOF will recognize members of the 1950 Stellars junior and 1954 Paulins senior teams that were in the first induction group in 1983. Dick Bevan, Ab Glowicki, Paul Granovsky, Gord Johnson, Morley Rypp and Mike Skwark of Stellars and Paulins’ George Oelkers will be in attendance.      

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller

Fall Arts Guide

We preview what’s new and what’s coming up in Winnipeg’s new arts season

View our Fall Arts Guide

Readers' Choice Awards

Best Of Winnipeg 2015 Readers Survey

Make your choice in the Canstar Community News‘ Best of Winnipeg Readers‘ Choice Awards

Vote Now

This Just In Twitter bird


Are you taking place in any Earth Day events this week?

View Results