Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

Goldeyes, soccer star Scott, Harris rewarded

Selected as Manitoba team, sports players of the year

  • Print

B.C. Lions running back Andrew Harris and Desiree Scott of Canada's Olympic bronze-medallist women's soccer team were named the male and female athletes of the year by the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association on Sunday night at the 57th annual awards dinner at the Winnipeg Convention Centre.

The Winnipeg Goldeyes baseball team, who won the American Association championship last season, was named the team of the year and winner of the Maurice Smith Memorial Trophy.

Morris Glimcher, the executive director of the Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association, won the Dallis Beck Good Guy Award while Paul Edmonds, the play-by-play announcer for the Winnipeg Goldeyes, was inducted into the Media Roll of Honour.

The Goldeyes team was also the recipient of the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial Award in recognition of the impact the team had on the Manitoba sports scene by winning the league championship with series sweeps of the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks and the Wichita Wingnuts. It was the first championship for a Winnipeg professional sports team since 1994 when the Goldeyes won the Northern League title.

Harris, a graduate of Oak Park High School, won the male athlete of the year award for a second straight year after he was the runner-up for the Canadian Football League's outstanding Canadian award in the 2012 season and named a league all-star. He led the CFL in yards from scrimmage with 1,830 and was third in the league in rushing with a total of 1,112 yards.

Scott was a starting midfielder for Canada at the London Summer Olympics, playing every minute in Canada's six games. She gained international recognition after she blocked a shot on the goal line in a 1-0 win over France in the bronze-medal game. She was named the player of the match in Canada's 2-2 result against Sweden to qualify for the quarter-finals.

The other male athlete finalists included the Western Hockey League's 2011-12 player of the year, Brendan Shinnimin of the Tri-City Americans; Joey Johnson of Canada's Paralympic gold-medallist men's wheelchair basketball team; University of Manitoba Bisons men's volleyball CIS all-Canadian player Dane Pischke; and Manitoba amateur golfer of the year Josh Wytinck.

Finalists for the female athlete award also included Olympic silver-medallist rower Janine Hanson; Paralympic gold-medallist wheelchair racer Michelle Stilwell; world championship silver-medallist women's singles racquetball player Jennifer Saunders; and Jocelyne Larocque of Canada's gold medal-winning team at the 2012 IIHF World Women's Hockey Championship.

The other team finalists were the Esso Cup national midget female hockey champion Pembina Valley Hawks; Allan Cup senior men's hockey champion South East Prairie Thunder; the under-18 FC Northwest male soccer team that won city, provincial, and national titles; and the Kelly Robertson senior men's curling team, which was the runner-up at the World Senior Men's Championship.

The MSSA Jack Matheson Memorial Awards for sports journalism students, announced earlier this month, were presented to Ryan Kessler of Red River College and the University of Winnipeg, Andrew Evans of Ryerson University in Toronto and Ian Froese of King's College in Halifax.

-- staff

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition January 28, 2013 C7

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets fans take Anaheim by storm

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • A baby Red Panda in her area at the Zoo. International Red Panda Day is Saturday September 15th and the Assiniboine Park Zoo will be celebrating in a big way! The Zoo is home to three red pandas - Rufus, Rouge and their cub who was born on June 30 of this year. The female cub has yet to be named and the Assiniboine Park Zoo is asking the community to help. September 14, 2012  BORIS MINKEVICH / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS
  • Two baby tigers were unveiled at the Assiniboine Park Zoo this morning, October 3rd, 2011. (TREVOR HAGAN/WINNIPEG FREE PRESS)

View More Gallery Photos


Will Connor McDavid make the Edmonton Oilers a playoff team?

View Results

Ads by Google