The Canadian Press - ONLINE EDITION
Posted: 08/16/2014 5:19 PM | Comments: 0
PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. - Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.
Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club.
Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.
Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.
Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.
Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories? Please use the form below and let us know.
Having problems with the form?Contact Us Directly
Tom Pernice Jr. shoots 60 in Hawaii Championship
Zac Blair leads Web.com Tour Championship
Paula Reto takes LPGA Tour lead in Alabama
Gallacher misses cut before 1st Ryder Cup
Ryder Cup Rosters
Ryder Cup trivia quiz
Ryder Cup at a glance
Ryder Cup, hole by hole
European capsules for the Ryder Cup
US capsules for the Ryder Cup
Another chance for USA to turn tide in Ryder Cup