May 28, 2015


NHL

Reinhart's slash to face deliberate: Marouelli

UFA, Russia -- The International Ice Hockey Federation's disciplinary committee took the unusual step of publicly defending its four-game suspension to Canadian defenceman Griffin Reinhart at the world junior championship, saying the player swung his stick at a U.S. player's head with intent to injure.

Former NHL referee Dan Marouelli, a Canadian, and Jeff Sauer of the U.S., assessed Reinhart the suspension Friday. The defenceman did not play in his team's 6-5 loss to Russia in Saturday's bronze-medal game.

Nathan Denette / the canadian press
It�s the end of the world as Boone Jenner knows it after Canada�s overtime loss to Russia in the bronze-medal game in Ufa on Saturday.

CP

Nathan Denette / the canadian press It�s the end of the world as Boone Jenner knows it after Canada�s overtime loss to Russia in the bronze-medal game in Ufa on Saturday.

Griffin Reinhart

CP

Griffin Reinhart

Nathan Denette / the canadian press
Team USA captain Jake McCabe shows off the grand prize.

CP

Nathan Denette / the canadian press Team USA captain Jake McCabe shows off the grand prize.

Reinhart must serve the remainder of the punishment at his next IIHF event, which could be the 2014 world junior championship because he's eligible to play for Canada again in Malmo, Sweden.

Reinhart was given a high-sticking minor in a semifinal game against the U.S. when he hit Vince Trocheck in the head with his stick. Trocheck was not injured.

The IIHF reviewed the play and handed out one of the longest suspensions ever at the world junior championship. Hockey Canada has said it will appeal.

Marouelli and Sauer appeared at an IIHF news conference Saturday armed with video to explain the severity of the suspension.

"In our opinion, he deliberately struck the U.S. player on the side of the head with his stick," Marouelli said. "We deem this to be a careless and reckless act and we are in charge of the player's safety for all players."

Reinhart had told reporters that as he lost his balance, his stick rode up Trocheck's stick and made accidental contact to the head.

Marouelli pointed to the video replay, saying Reinhart had eye contact with Trocheck as he swung his stick with two hands.

The IIHF contended the players' sticks didn't make contact -- and thus Reinhart's stick wasn't deflected upward to his opponent's head -- but the video didn't prove that conclusively.

"Would it have made a difference? Possibly if the sticks collided . . . . but the determining factor for me is eye contact. He never loses the eye of his opponent and the deliberation of his act, the way he was careless with that stick," Marouelli said. "You can paint it any way you want. He struck him in the face and it wasn't an accident."

Marouelli also said the referees erred in not giving Reinhart a match penalty.

-- Spencer

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition January 6, 2013 B2

You can comment on most stories on winnipegfreepress.com. You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Scroll down to load more

Top