Winnipeg Free Press - PRINT EDITION

McEwen on top of world after repeating in Portage

  • Print

THE Mike McEwen team from the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club defended their title and earned the top prize of $18,000 at the Canad Inns Prairie Classic on Monday in Portage la Prairie.

The McEwen team of third B.J. Neufeld, second Matt Wozniak and lead Denni Neufeld defeated the Kevin Koe team from Edmonton 5-3 in the championship final at the Portage Curling Club.

McEwen scored two in the fifth to lead 4-1 before Koe put up back-to-back singles in the sixth and seventh ends to make it close. McEwen sealed the win with a single in the eighth end.

The Koe team earned $10,000 as a finalist in the bonspiel, which carried a prize purse of $58,000.

"It's a great event where we get to play against some of our peers, some good Manitoba teams, and some good out-of-province teams. It feels pretty good at the end of the day to win an event like that," McEwen said in a telephone interview. "We struggled a bit early on but the last three games were probably the best games we've played all year (this season so far)."

At the Manitoba Lotteries Women's Curling Classic at the Fort Rouge Curling Club, Renee Sonnenberg and her team from Grande Prairie, Alta., defeated the Heather Nedohin team from Edmonton 8-7 in the championship final.

It was the first Capital One Grand Slam of Curling title for the Sonnenberg team of third Lawnie MacDonald, second Kristie Moore and lead Rona Pasika, which earned $15,000 as the winner. The Nedohin team of third Beth Iskiw, second Jessica Mair and lead Laine Peters received $10,000.

Sonnenberg led 5-0 after three ends and Nedohin put up three in the seventh end to tie the game at 7-7. Sonnenberg scored a last-rock single in the eighth end for the win.

In the men's semifinals, McEwen scored three in the seventh end to beat Sean Grassie 6-2. Koe scored a last-rock single to beat Steve Laycock of Saskatchewan 6-5 in the other semifinal.

The Grassie and Laycock teams each earned $6,000 as semifinalists.

McEwen came into the event sitting second on the World Curling Tour's money list behind Kevin Martin of Edmonton.

"We were talking after and this is our fifth year as a team. We've had some big mountains to climb but we just realized that we're now the No. 1 ranked team in the world," McEwen said, noting the Portage win put the team at the top of the World Curling Tour money list, the Order of Merit list and the Canadian Team Ranking System. "We've come a long way and, even though we still haven't been able to get that Manitoba championship, we're pretty happy with the direction the team is going."

At Fort Rouge in the women's semifinals Monday afternoon, hometown favourite Cathy Overton-Clapham and her Fort Rouge team of third Jenna Loder, second Ashley Howard and lead Breanne Meakin lost 5-4 in an extra end to Sonnenberg. The Overton-Clapham team earlier this month won the first women's Grand Slam event of the season, capturing the Curlers Corner Autumn Gold Curling Classic in Calgary.

The Cheryl Bernard team from Calgary, 2010 Olympic silver medallists, lost 6-2 in the other semifinal to Nedohin. Overton-Clapham and Bernard each received $6,000 as semifinalists.

Jennifer Jones' team from St. Vital lost in the quarter-final round, dropping a 4-3 decision to Bernard. The other teams who lost in the quarter-finals included Darcy Robertson of Fort Rouge, Stefanie Lawton of Saskatchewan and Kelly Scott of B.C. The teams bowing out after the quarter-finals each won $3,700.

Republished from the Winnipeg Free Press print edition October 25, 2011 D6

Fact Check

Fact Check

Have you found an error, or know of something we’ve missed in one of our stories?
Please use the form below and let us know.

* Required
  • Please post the headline of the story or the title of the video with the error.

  • Please post exactly what was wrong with the story.

  • Please indicate your source for the correct information.

  • Yes


  • This will only be used to contact you if we have a question about your submission, it will not be used to identify you or be published.

  • Cancel

Having problems with the form?

Contact Us Directly
  • Print

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective April 16, 2010.


Make text: Larger | Smaller


Jets speak after 4-2 loss to Ducks in Game 1

View more like this

Photo Store Gallery

  • MIKE APORIUS/WINNIPEG FREE PRESS BUSINESS - cow on farm owned by cattle farmer Lloyd Buchanan near Argyle Wednesday afternoon -see Larry Kusch's story  January 04/2006
  • Marc Gallant/Winnipeg Free Press. Gardening Column- Assiniboine Park English Garden. July 19, 2002.

View More Gallery Photos


What do you think the punishment should be for Dustin Byfuglien's cross-check on New York Rangers forward J. T. Miller?

View Results

View Related Story

Ads by Google