Incumbent school trustees fall all over town


Advertise with us

They'll need a few weeks just to remember each others' names around the school board table in St. James-Assiniboia School Division -- only three incumbent trustees are coming back.

Read this article for free:


Already have an account? Log in here »

To continue reading, please subscribe:

Monthly Digital Subscription

$4.75 per week*

  • Enjoy unlimited reading on
  • Read the E-Edition, our digital replica newspaper
  • Access News Break, our award-winning app
  • Play interactive puzzles

*Billed as $19.00 plus GST every four weeks. Cancel anytime.

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 28/10/2010 (4529 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

They’ll need a few weeks just to remember each others’ names around the school board table in St. James-Assiniboia School Division — only three incumbent trustees are coming back.

Two incumbents lost their seats Wednesday and four retired.

It’s one of the largest school board turnovers in the city in memory.

Six new trustees will try to cope with enrolment that’s been inexorably dwindling for decades. The division has the city’s lowest school property taxes, but it has closed 16 schools, and would have closed more had the province not imposed a moratorium two years ago.

Incumbents fell last night throughout the city:

Sonia Prevost-Derbecker in Winnipeg, Roxanne Delbridge and Rockford McKay in St. James-Assiniboia, Mike Daoust in Louis Riel and Dennis Ruggles in Seven Oaks.

There’ll be a major turnover when school boards hold their inaugural meetings next week — 15 new trustees out of 52 seats on city school boards.

The province’s largest school division will have two new trustees. Darlyne Bautista, a young community and education activist and graduate of St. John’s High School, endorsed by the NDP, knocked off Prevost-Derbecker in Winnipeg’s Ward 3. Bautista co-ordinates Canada’s first Filipino heritage courses at the University of Winnipeg.

Longtime inner city housing and community activist Cathy Collins won a seat in Ward 2, where she told an all-candidates’ meeting last week that she’d struggled to campaign throughout the massive ward. There was a seat vacated by city council candidate Cindy Gilroy-Price.

Retired aboriginal educator Myra Laramee had the NDP behind her in Ward 2, but finished fourth and out of the running.

The St. James-Assiniboia board has only Bruce Chegus, Cheryl Smukowich, and maybe Craig McGregor coming back. McGregor was third for three seats, but only seven votes ahead of fellow incumbent McKay.

Recount, anyone?

The St. James-Assiniboia newcomers include former trustee and board chairman Scott Johnston, who came out of retirement, Jennifer Lawson, Ed Hume, Sandy Lethbridge, Craig Johnson and Bryan Metcalfe.

Onetime board chairman Ric Dela Cruz roared out of retirement to grab a seat in Seven Oaks, where Derek Dabee also won a seat on the board.

Chris Sigurdson knocked off Daoust, and rookie Sandy Nemeth also joined the Louis Riel board.

Julie Fisher joins eight incumbents in Pembina Trails.

River East-Transcona saw two incumbents run for city council, their seats now filled by candidates on political comebacks. Onetime city councillor Shirley Timm-Rudolph won a seat, and former board chairman Wayne Ritcher avenged his loss in 2006 by regaining a seat.

Some other races may go to a recount.

Hume led runner-up Kelly-Ann Stevenson by 52 in St. James-Assiniboia, while Timm-Rudolph’s lead over newcomer Jan Anderson was 60 votes.

An unheard-of seven trustees won their seats by acclamation — four in Seven Oaks, two in Louis Riel and one in River East-Transcona.


Ward 1

Louise Johnston 5,286

Gary Gervais 3,848

Bob Wilson 2,260

Chris Wilson 1,856


Ward 2

Mike Ducharme 4,822

Chris Sigurdson 4,162

Mike Daoust 3,539


Ward 3

Dave Richardson 7,845

Wayne Ruff 6,975

Sandy Nemeth 6,500

Robert Page 6,179

Alem Asghedom 2262


Ward 4

Tom Parker acclaimed

Hugh Coburn acclaimed



Ward 1

Gerry Melnyk 6,944

Gail Watson 6,615

Dianne Zuk 5,309

Jim Komenda 4,763


Ward 2

Sue Clayton 10,311

David Johnson 7,625

Tim Johnson 7,134

Tina Strong 4,114

Norm Wylie 2,696


Ward 3

Laureen Goodridge 4,975

Jacquie Field 4,948

Julie Fisher 4,278

Caroline Mehra 3,210

Charlotte Roy-Johnson 2,342



Ward 2

Ric Dela Cruz 5,245

Bill McGowan 4,756

Derek Dabee 4,563

Cory Juan 4,440

Dennis Ruggles 3,912

Ben Bansal 3,192

Kai Schioler 2,092


Ward 3

Teresa Jaworski acclaimed

Claudia Sarbit acclaimed

Edward Ploszsay acclaimed

Richard Sawka acclaimed



Ward 1

Joyce Bateman 13862

Rita Hildahl 10976

Jackie Sneesby 9392 E

Kevin Freedman 6370

Brenda Poersch 3596

Johnny Salangad 2237


Ward 2

Kristine Barr 8,497

Cathy Collins 7,364

Anthony Ramos 6,955

Myra Laramee 6,254

Bradley McKay 3,418

Rolf Salfert 2,283

Kenny Moran 1,979


Ward 3

Mike Babinsky 12,017

Suzanne Hrynyk 9,618

Darlyne Bautista 7,979

Sonia Prevost-Derbecker 6,680

Roy Hargrave 4,308



King Edward-Deer Lodge ward

Jennifer Lawson 3,374

Scott Johnston 2,660

Ed Hume 2,596

Kelly-Ann Stevenson 2,544

Roxane Delbridge 2,213

Kirkfield-St. Charles ward

Cheryl Smukovich 5,056

Bruce Chegus 3,744

Sandy Lethbridge 3,118

Eric Holland 2,782

Ted Hull 2,337

Teresa Pitzel 1,893


Silver Heights-Booth ward

Craig Johnson ,3910

Bryan Metcalfe 3,509

Craig McGregor 3,169

Rockford Mackay 3,162

Cheyenne Green 3,062



Ward 1

Colleen Carswell 4,267

George Marshall 3,078

Amanda Giesbrecht 2,990

Dan Richard 1,529

David Kendall 924

Derek Goodman 858


Ward 2

John Toews 2,570

Gurpreet Brar ,2454


Ward 3

Bob Fraser 2906

A.J. Falk 1096


Ward 4

Eva Prysizney 4,074

Wayne Ritcher 3,187

Roland Headley

Jeff Cieszecki


Ward 5

Peter Kotyk 5,443

Shirley Timm-Rudolph 3,588

Jan Anderson 3,528

Michael Hamm 1,350

Marie Antaya 1,327

Derek Litke 751



Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us