August 24, 2017


4° C, Fog

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

Bombers release RB Joe Smith

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 25/6/2009 (2981 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

WINNIPEG — The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have swung an axe through their roster with the biggest name whacked running back Joe Smith.

Smith, the veteran tailback who joined the club last year in the trade that sent Charles Roberts to the B.C. Lions, lost his job as the Bombers opted to keep Fred Reid and newcomers Lavarus Giles and Yvenson Bernard on their 46-man (42 active, four on reserve) list.

Joe Smith


Joe Smith

Also released were:

Veteran Canadian offensive lineman Matt O'Meara

Defensive back Patrick Body

Canadian O-lineman Jean-Francois Morin-Roberge

Defensive back Ronyell Whitaker

Linebacker Jasper Johnson

Defensive back Nick Kordic

Defensive end Montez Murphy

Receiver Terry Firr

Offensive lineman Thaddeus Coleman

Defensive end Chase Ortiz

Linebacker Neil Ternovatsky

Head coach Mike Kelly will be addressing the media shortly.


Meanwhile, we're posting other CFL transactions straight from their press releases as we see them:


Mississauga — The Toronto Argonauts Football Club have released the following players today:

#66, OT, Patrick Afif*

#2, RB, Tyler Ebell*

#41, LB, Nick Hannah*

#84, WR, Kenny Higgins*

#29, DB, Pete Hunter*

#76, DL, Kevin Huntley*

#91, DE, Ben Ishola*

#38, CB, Sammy Joseph*

#87, WR, Matt Lambros

#14, WR, Kinsmon Lancaster*

#85, WR, Todd Lowber*

#83, WR/KR Jerome Mathis*

#94, DE, David McMillan*

#82, WR/KR Kenny O'Neal*

#68, OL, Zachary Pollari

#17, QB, Stephen Reaves*

#89, WR, Cleannord Saintil*

#62, OG, Gordon Sawler

#80, WR, Brad Smith

#18, RB, Da'Shawn Thomas*

#54, OL, Chris Van Zeyl

*denotes import



The Roughriders have released the following players:

Non-Import, DL, Nuvraj Bassi,

Import, WR, Todd Blythe,

Non-Import, K/P, Jeff Bolen,

Import, WR, Brandon Childress,

Import, RB, Jason Geathers,

Non-Import, DB, Sasha Glavic,

Import, QB, Juan Joseph

Import, WR, Casey McGahee

Import, LB, Sam Olajabutu

Import, DL, David Patterson

Import, LB, Brandon Perkins

Non-Import, OL, Brad Peters

Import, WR, Byron Ross

Import, DL, Seante Williams

Import, DB, Jerron Wishom

The Roughriders have placed the following on the injured list:

Import, RB, Wes Cates

Non-Import, DB, Tamon George

Import, DB, Denatay Heard

Non-Import, OL, Gene Makowsky

Non-Import, WR, Adam Nicolson

Non-Import, OL, Jordan Rempel

Import, WR, Gerran Walker

The Roughriders have placed the following on the 9-game injured list:

Non-Import, RB, Neal Hughes

Non-Import, WR, David McKoy

Non-Import, DB, Leron Mitchell

Non-Import, OL, Wayne Smith

The Roughriders have placed the following on the Practice Roster:

Import, DB, Carlos Armour

Import, RB, Justin Beaver

Non-Import, OL, Dan Clark

Import, DB, Daniel Francis

Non-Import, DB, Joel Lipinski

Non-Import, K/P, Perri Scarcelli

Import, DL, Joe Sykes

Non-Import, DB, Konrad Wasiela



Hamilton, Ontario — The Tiger-Cats have added non-import running back John Williams to the roster. Williams enters his eighth CFL season and his second with the Ticats after recording 12 special teams tackles, 29 rushing yards and 16 receiving yards in 2008.

The following players have been released:

NIP, DL, J.P. Bekasiak

IMP, DB, Carlton Brown

IMP, LB, Matt Castelo

IMP, WR, Eddie Cohen

NIP, OL, Francis Daneau

NIP, WR, Cassidy Doneff

IMP, DL, Brandon Guillory

IMP, DL, Alan Harper

NIP, S, Sean Manning

IMP DB, Melvin Matlock

IMP, DL, Mike McFadden

IMP, OL, Dan Oliphant

IMP, DB, Desman Stephen

IMP, WR, Jacob Willis

The following players have been added to the one-game injured list:

IMP WR, David Ball

IMP DL, Demonte' Bolden

IMP QB, Jason Boltus

NIP OL, Zac Carlson

IMP FB, Robert Pavlovic

IMP LB, Cameron Siskowic

The following players have been added to the nine-game injured list:

IMP RB Kenton Keith



The Calgary Stampeders have made the following moves in order to finalize their roster for the opening of the 2009 Canadian Football League regular season.


Receiver Jackie Chambers*

Quarterback Matt D'Orazio*

Offensive lineman John Hashem

Defensive back Anthony Ivy*

Defensive lineman Julian Jenkins*

Receiver John Kanaroski

Defensive lineman E.J. Kuale*

Defensive back Perry Kyles*

Receiver Vincent Marshall*

Fullback Scott McHenry

Running back Cedric Thompson*


Offensive lineman Michael Byrne*

Offensive lineman Jon Gott

Linebacker Kelvin Morris*

Defensive back Quinton Meaders*

Offensive lineman Steve Myddelton

Defensive lineman Osie Ukwuoma

Running back Derek Watson*


Running back Jon Cornish

Receiver Jermaine Jackson*

Defensive lineman Tom Johnson*

Fullback Fernand Kashama

Offensive lineman Jeff Pilon

Offensive lineman Derek Armstrong

Linebacker Lemarcus Rowell*

Defensive back Brandon Smith*

*-denotes import




Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more