August 22, 2017


17° C, Partly cloudy

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

Katz names Nordman, Swandel to EPC

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 4/11/2013 (1387 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

Mayor Sam Katz appointed an old face and a familiar face to his executive policy committee this morning.

Justin Swandel (St. Norbert), once believed to be Katz’s most-trusted ally and supporter who quit EPC a year ago claiming it was broken, rejoins the powerful group as chair of infrastructure renewal and public works.

In centre, the two new Executive Policy Committee members, Justin Swandel (left) and Grant Nordman.


In centre, the two new Executive Policy Committee members, Justin Swandel (left) and Grant Nordman.

Grant Nordman (St. Charles), who had been speaker, joins EPC as a non-committee chair with responsibilities.

"The team before you is focused on the priorities of Winnipeg," Katz said as he introduced his six-member cabinet.

The changes were prompted after Dan Vandal (St. Boniface) and Scott Fielding (St. James-Brooklands) quit late last month: Vandal, to concentrate on his bid to run federally for the Liberals; Fielding, quit as he was upset with pending property-tax increases, the mess with the fire hall scandal and the new police HQ over-runs. Fielding is considering a run for mayor next year.

But in a strange twist, Katz said in welcoming Swandel back, he was the only councillor to leave "of his own initiative" – casting doubt on the forces motivating Vandal and Fielding. Katz refused to explain his comments.

"I picked these two (Swandel and Nordman) because I think they can be valuable assets," Katz said

Brian Mayes (St. Vital) who had been the non-committee member of EPC, takes over Fielding’s old post as chair of protection and community services.

Swandel replaces Vandal as chair of public works.

The three remaining EPC members retained their positions: Jeff Browaty (North Kildonan), chair of property and development; Russ Wyatt (Transcona), holds onto finance; and Mike Pagtakhan, chair of downtown development, heritage and riverbank management.

With Nordman joining EPC, councillors will choose a new speaker during Wednesday’s re-organizational meeting.

Katz appointed Swandel deputy mayor, a post previously held by Wyatt; Wyatt was also given a new secretarial portfolio, economic development.

Katz would not say if anyone had turned him down.

Paula Havixbeck (Charleswood- Tuxedo) was the last woman on EPC – booted off by Katz in January because she was seen as too independent -- and she said she’s concerned with the new make-up of the group.

"People are tired of the perceived boys’ club at city hall making all the decisions," Havixbeck said.

Read more by Aldo Santin.


Advertise With Us


Updated on Monday, November 4, 2013 at 12:43 PM CST: Video added.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more