August 18, 2017


23° C, Sunny

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

Reeves, mayors condemn PST hike

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 10/5/2013 (1561 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

The mayors and reeves of 11 municipalities in the Manitoba capital region joined Winnipeg Mayor Sam Katz at city hall today to issue another condemnation of the Selinger’s government’s proposed provincial-sales-tax hike.

The leaders of East St. Paul, West St. Paul, Headingley, MacDonald, Ritchot, Rockwood, St. Andrews, St. Clements, St. Francois-Xavier, Springfield, Taché and Winnipeg lined up outside Katz’s office to demand the province offer Manitoba municipalities the entire $277-million proceeds of a one-percentage-point rise in the PST, dividing up the funds on a per-capita basis.

"This just isn’t fair. The province is using the money to fund their activities and there is no more money for us," St. Andrews Reeve Don Forfar said at the press conference, the third held at city hall over the past two weeks to denounce the PST hike.

In 2008, Manitoba municipalities asked the province to hike PST revenues and devote the proceeds to municipal infrastructure. The reeves and mayors in the capital region say Manitoban voters would still support such a move if it truly paid for infrastructure, not provincial responsibilities such as education and health.


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more