August 17, 2017


18° C, Clear

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

Top 35 LPGA players coming to Women's Open at St. Charles

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 17/8/2010 (2557 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

NORTH PLAINS, Ore. — The top 35 players on the LPGA Tour’s money list are committed to next week’s CN Canadian Women’s Open at Winnipeg’s St. Charles Country Club.

Tuesday was the Tour’s entry deadline for the $2.25 million US event that starts next Thursday at the stately Winnipeg club.
The entry list includes all the big names, from No. 1 Jiyai Shin to No. 4 Suzann Pettersen, the defending champ, to No. 5 Ai Miyazato to No. 6 Cristie Kerr to No. 8 Paula Creamer to No. 19 Michelle Wie.

Going down the Tour’s money list, No. 36 Lorena Ochoa is the first player missing from the CN Canadian Women’s Open, but Ochoa, at the time the World No. 1-ranked player, retired suddenly early this season.

The first active player missing from the money list is No. 47 Natalie Gulbis, who’s also not playing this week’s Safeway Classic near Portland. Gulbis hasn’t given a reason for her absence but she has missed tournaments in the past due to back problems.

All four major champions of 2010, No. 3 on the money list Yani Tseng (Kraft Nabisco and British Open), Kerr (LPGA Championship) and Creamer (U.S. Open) will tee it up in Winnipeg.
The top Canadian entered in the Open is No. 55 Alena Sharp of Hamilton, Ont. She’ll be one of 13 Canadians in the field as of Tuesday.

Fellow LPGA members Lorie Kane, Lisa Meldrum, Samantha Richdale and Adrienne White are also in and Golf Canada announced Tuesday that it has handed out four exemptions to amateur players on the national or development team.
Those go to amateurs Jennifer Kirby and Sara-Maude Juneau from the national team and Christine Wong and Rebecca Lee-Bentham from the development team.

Also former Team Canada members Sue Kim and Stephanie Sherlock, who recently turned pro, are in the field. Kim earned her exemption from the CN Canadian Women’s Tour and Sherlock, the country’s former top amateur, was granted an exemption.

Joining them are Canadians Seema Sadekar and Jessica Shepley.
There’s also the possibility of more Canadians. Four spots are up for grabs at Monday’s qualifying day at Elmhurst.


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more