August 21, 2017


19° C, A few clouds

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

Tories make gains in Manitoba at NDP's expense

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 2/5/2011 (2302 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

The Conservative Party of Canada's good fortune is on display in Manitoba, as Tories now represent 10 out of 14 seats and are poised to win an 11th.

All nine Conservatives incumbents in Manitoba reclaimed their seats, while Joyce Bateman knocked off Anita Neville in Winnipeg South Centre.

And Tory Lawrence Toet is holding on to a narrow lead over NDP incumbent Jim Maloway in Elmwood-Transcona.

Despite their good fortunes elsewhere in Canada, the New Democrats have been reduced to two Manitoba seats: Churchill, where Niki Ashton has won her second term, and Winnipeg Centre, where Pat Martin has won his sixth trip to Ottawa.

The Liberals only have one Manitoba outpost: Winnipeg North, where Kevin Lamoureux won in a squeaker over the NDP's Rebecca Blaikie.

The returning Conservatives are Vic Toews in Provencher, Robert Sopuck in Dauphin-Swan River, Joy Smith in Kildonan-St. Paul, Candice Hoeppner in Portage-Lisgar, Rod Bruinooge in Winnipeg South, James Bezan in Selkirk-Interlake, Steven Fletcher in Charleswood-St. James-Assiniboia, Shelly Glover in St. Boniface and Merv Tweed in Brandon-Souris.

Read more by Bartley Kives and Carol Sanders.


Advertise With Us


Updated on Tuesday, May 3, 2011 at 1:32 AM CDT: Corrects name of riding.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more