Awards honour local altruists


Advertise with us

Volunteer Manitoba made some time for those who give their time for others.

Read this article for free:


Already have an account? Log in here »

To continue reading, please subscribe with this special offer:

All-Access Digital Subscription

$1.50 for 150 days*

  • Enjoy unlimited reading on
  • Read the E-Edition, our digital replica newspaper
  • Access News Break, our award-winning app
  • Play interactive puzzles

*Pay $1.50 for the first 22 weeks of your subscription. After 22 weeks, price increases to the regular rate of $19.00 per month. GST will be added to each payment. Subscription can be cancelled after the first 22 weeks.

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 10/04/2014 (3092 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

Volunteer Manitoba made some time for those who give their time for others.

Selfless individuals from across the province were recognized at the 31st annual Volunteer Awards on Wednesday night. The event took place at the RBC Convention Centre Winnipeg and celebrated those who make a difference in the community.

Premier Greg Selinger was on hand to present awards in the Premier’s Volunteer Service category. Those honoured for their work in various volunteer capacities were K. Barrie Burnett, Bernice Enstrom, Sangeetha Nair, Oswald Sawh, and Richard Walker (individual awards); Devon and Jeremy Liscum, and Rebecca Trudeau (youth awards); and the Churchill Ladies Club, Ten Thousand Villages Volunteer Team and Woodlands Community Hall (community).

Crystal Schick / Winnipeg Free Press Lt.-Gov. Philip Lee presents a Lieutenant-Governor's Make a Difference Community Award to Randi Gage.

“When people give their time, skills and energy through volunteering, it invigorates their communities and serves as an example of leadership for all of us,” Selinger said in a news release. “It’s my pleasure to officially recognize the selfless contributions of the 2014 Volunteer Service Award winners and to thank all volunteers in this province for the work they do that benefits so many Manitobans.”

The other volunteer award winners in various categories included:

— Lieutenant-Governor’s Make a Difference Community Awards: William (Bill) Bodman; Philippe Desautels; Jordan Falconer and St. Amant School Volunteers from Highbury School; Peter Martin; Jim Ogunnoiki; Randi Gage

— Lieutenant-Governor’s Viceregal Award: Jordan Falconer and St. Amant School Volunteers from Highbury School

— Mayor’s Volunteer Service Awards: Natalie Brnjas; Rui Goncalves; The Home Depot Winnipeg; Ruth Livingston; McBeth House

— Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries Family IMPACT Award: the Friesen Family (Kevin, Pamela, Aaron, Cole, Jonas and Thomas)

— Investors Group Arts & Culture Award for Volunteer Excellence: Shirley Genik

— Safeway Celebration of Ability Award: Becky Froese

— Golden Hand Award: Arctic Radio

— RBC Local Hero Award: Lon Cullen

— Manitoba Real Estate Association Quality of Life Award: Susan Hunt and Josie Landry

— William Norrie Outstanding Community Leadership Award: Jeff Lieberman

— Volunteer Manitoba Outstanding Rural Community Leadership Award: Joy Neufeld


Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us