August 17, 2017


14° C, Fog

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

City administrators', councillors' salaries revealed

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 15/7/2013 (1493 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

For Winnipeg's top civil servant, 2012 was a difficult year: There was a water-park debacle at The Forks, a fire-paramedic station construction scandal and sudden closures of both the Civic Centre Parkade and Sherbrook Pool.

But last year did offer a silver lining for chief administrative officer Phil Sheegl, who took home $241,589 in salary and benefits in 2012, more than any other City of Winnipeg employee, including elected officials and other public servants.

The closure of Sherbrook Pool was just one of the problems city chief administrative officer  Phil Sheegl faced last year. He was paid $241,589 in salary and benefits for his trouble.


The closure of Sherbrook Pool was just one of the problems city chief administrative officer Phil Sheegl faced last year. He was paid $241,589 in salary and benefits for his trouble.

The city's annual compensation disclosure, published earlier this month, lists the compensation for 5,736 city employees who took home $50,000 or more in 2012 in the form of salary, overtime, sick pay, retirement pay or other benefits.

The CAO, who's responsible for the entire public service, typically leads the list, although in some years, departed staff -- who may receive lump-sum payments for previously unclaimed benefits -- have the potential to out-earn the CAO.

In 2012, the biggest departure package went to former Winnipeg Transit planner Bill Menzies, who devoted much of his career to the construction of the Southwest Transitway. Menzies took home $217,179 last year, making him the third-highest-paid city employee after Sheegl and a Winnipeg Fire-Paramedic Service communications operator named Carl Schimnowski, who earned $227,098.

The details of Schimnowski's compensation -- or that of any other city employee -- can not be discussed due to privacy reasons, said city communications manager Steve West, who took home $113,751 last year, according to the report.

The highest-paid elected official, Mayor Sam Katz, took home $171,017, while councillors earned between $116,184 and $84,514, depending on their committee duties.

City department directors earned between $180,265 and $87,644, depending on their experience and the nature of their department. The highest-paid department director was Winnipeg Fire-Paramedic Chief Reid Douglas, who edged out chief financial officer Mike Ruta by a mere $87.

Salaries for senior managers with the city remain below those enjoyed by managers in the private sector or other levels of government, said city council finance chairman Russ Wyatt (Transcona).

"They tell me we're losing people, although I don't know if that's true," Wyatt said. "On a per-capita basis, our costs are quite low compared to other cities in Canada."

Top earners

Selected entries from the City of Winnipeg's 2012 compensation disclosure:

Politicians/political staff

  • Sam Katz, mayor: $171,017
  • Bonnie Staples-Lyon, Katz's chief of staff: $124,701
  • City councillors: $116,184 to $84,514
  • Brad Salyn, Katz's policy director: $90,477

Senior staff

  • Phil Sheegl, chief administrative officer: $241,589
  • Deepak Joshi, chief operating officer: $189,601
  • Reid Douglas, fire-paramedic chief: $180,265
  • Mike Ruta, chief financial officer: $180,178
  • Dave Wardrop, transit director: $173,820
  • Richard Kachur, city clerk: $164,250
  • Diane Sacher, water and waste director: $163,336
  • Clive Wightman, community services director: $162,706
  • Barry Thorgrimson, planning, property and development director: $160,373
  • Linda Burch, corporate support services director: $157,069
  • Brad Sacher, public works director: $155,371
  • Devon Clunis, police chief: $155,262
  • Brian Whiteside, city auditor: $137,163
  • Michael Jack, city solicitor: $132,596
  • Herbert Hajer, fleet management COO: $129,126
  • Mel Chambers, city assessor: $111,648
  • Randy Topolniski, parking authority COO: $104,906
  • Alan Shane, golf services COO: $97,062
  • Leland Gordon, animal services COO: $87,644

Familiar faces

  • Ken Boyd, streets maintenance manager: $123,758
  • Steve West, communications manager: $113,751
  • Taz Stuart, city entomologist: $100,015
  • Randy Hull, emergency preparedness co-ordinator: $96,467
  • Kenny Boyce, film and special-events manager: $96,467
  • Jason Michalyshen, police constable and spokesman: $94,171

Departed staff

  • Bill Menzies, former transit planner: $217,179
  • Keith McCaskill, former police chief: $193,173
  • Len Strijack, former city solicitor: $157,658
  • Nelson Karpa, former city assessor: $141,299


Advertise With Us


Updated on Tuesday, July 16, 2013 at 8:07 AM CDT: Adds sidebar

9:37 AM: Adds link to compensation report.

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more