August 21, 2017


15° C, Overcast

Full Forecast


Advertise With Us

10 Tobans in tourney

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 9/7/2012 (1868 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

MYLES Sullivan's successful bid for the Players Cup on Monday brings to 10 the number of Manitoba players in the Canadian Tour event.

Sullivan will join CanTour members Matt Johnston, Tyler Mancini and Scott Loewen as well as local exemptions Geoff Kehler of St. Boniface, Manitoba junior champ Ryan Sholdice of Bel Acres, Pine Ridge pro Shane Dick, Manitoba Amateur runner-up Josh Wytinck of Pine Ridge, former champ Rob McMillan and 16-time Pine Ridge club champ Todd Teplitski.

Kagasaki, 15, gets spot

THE set field for the Players Cup is always a fluid entity until Thursday's opening round.

With Canadian Matt Hill's playoff victory Sunday in Saskatoon, tournament organizers here had an extra exemption to play with and decided to award it to 15-year-old Japanese pro Kota Kagasaki.

Kagasaki, now living on Australia's Gold Coast, was slated to play the Monday qualifier but received his good news just hours before his scheduled tee time.

Kagasaki earned a conditional CanTour card last winter. When he was 13, he played a nine-hole exhibition match against Tiger Woods.

He missed the cut last week in Saskatoon.

Rumble tee times

TEE times for today's Free Press Rumble at the Ridge Celebrity Classic, listing celebrity and Canadian Tour professional of the four-man teams. Teams to be captained by Jonathan Toews and Shane Hnidy (Admission to the course is included in Players Cup weekly passes)

First Tee

10:30 a.m. Joe Aiello, Kent Eger

10:40 a.m. Kerry Burtnyk, Michael Gligic

10:50 a.m. Kevin Clark, Joe Panzeri

11 a.m. Obby Kahn, Alan McLean

11:10 a.m. Nolan Baumgartner, John Ellis

11:20 a.m. Mike Stone, Hugo Leon

11:30 a.m. Zach Bogosian, Matt Johnston

11:40 a.m.Shane Hnidy, Corey Renfrew

11:50 a.m. Jonathan Toews, Roger Sloan


Tenth Tee

10:30 a.m. Ab McDonald, Brian Unk

10:40 a.m. Brian Munz, Will Strickler

10:50 a.m. Dave Manson, Dan Buchner

11 a.m. Cathy Overton, Jose de Jesus Rodriguez

11:10 a.m. Matt Calvert, Andrew Roque

11:20 a.m. Troy Westwood, Danny Sahl

11:30 a.m. Ryan Reaves, Andy Matthews

11:40 a.m. Mark Stone, Cody Slover

11:50 a.m. Travis Hamonic, Brian Prouty


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more