About the Blues

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 4/10/2018 (1320 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

About the Blues

St. Louis is looking to rebound after the disappointment of missing the 2017-18 playoffs by a single point. The Colorado Avalanche beat the Blues 5-2 in the final game of the season to grab the last Western Conference wild-card berth. St. Louis was on the outside looking in for the first time in six seasons.


The Blues have added C Ryan O’Reilly, C Tyler Bozak, LW David Perron, RW Patrick Maroon and G Chad Johnson, while saying goodbye to G Carter Hutton, C Patrik Berglund, C Vladimir Sobotka, C Kyle Brodziak and LW Scottie Upshall.


St. Louis has plenty of offensive weaponry. O’Reilly had 24 goals and 61 points last season, former Brandon Wheat Kings star C Brayden Schenn had 28 goals and 70 points, RW Vladimir Tarasenko had 33 goals and 66 points, while LW Jayden Schwartz had 24 goals and 59 points in an injury-shortened 62-game season.


The defensive unit should be sound, led by Alex Pietrangelo, Colton Parayko, Jay Bouwmeester and Joel Edmundson. This group prides itself on limiting shots, particularly in high-danger areas. G Jake Allen — 27-25-3 with a 2.75 GAA and .906 SP — needs a more consistent campaign.

St. Louis will carry 12 forwards, nine blue-liners and a pair of goalies to begin the season. C Oskar Sundqvist, C Robby Fabbri, RW Nikita Soshnikov and D Carl Gunnarsson are all on the shelf with injuries.



31 Chad Johnson G

34 Jake Allen G

6 Joel Edmundson D

7 Patrick Maroon LW

10 Brayden Schenn C

17 Jayden Schwartz LW

19 Jay Bouwmeester D

20 Alex Steen LW

21 Tyler Bozak C

25 Chris Butler D

27 Alex Pietrangelo D

29 Vince Dunn D

33 Jordan Kyrou C

36 Robert Thomas C

41 Robert Bortuzzo D

43 Jordan Schmaltz D

49 Ivan Barbashev C

55 Colton Parayko D

57 David Perron LW

64 Sammy Blais LW

77 Niko Mikkola D

90 Ryan O’Reilly C

91 Vladimir Tarasanko RW

Head coach: Mike Yeo

Assistant coaches: Craig Berube, Mike Van Ryn, Steve Ott

Goalie coach: David Alexander

Video coach: Sean Ferrell




30 Laurent Brossoit G

37 Connor Hellebuyck G

5 Dmitry Kulikov D

7 Ben Chiarot D

8 Jacob Trouba D

9 Andrew Copp C

13 Brandon Tanev LW

17 Adam Lowry C

18 Bryan Little C

26 Blake Wheeler RW

27 Nikolaj Ehlers LW

28 Jack Roslovic C

29 Patrik Laine RW

33 Dustin Byfuglien D

41 Kyle Connor LW

44 Josh Morrissey D

48 Brendan Lemieux LW

55 Mark Scheifele C

56 Marko Dano LW

57 Tyler Myers D

70 Joe Morrow D

85 Mathieu Perreault C

93 Kristian Vesalainen LW

Head coach: Paul Maurice

Assistant coaches: Charlie Huddy, Jamie Kompon, Todd Woodcroft

Goalie coach: Wade Flaherty

Video coach: Matt Prefontaine

Jason Bell