August 17, 2017


14° C, Fog

Full Forecast

Record: 40 – 35 – 7

Winnipeg Jets Logo

Winnipeg Jets (40 – 35 – 7)


Advertise With Us

Jets-Hawks Lineups

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 1/11/2013 (1384 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.


The team's first regular-season visit to Winnipeg since 1996 comes today, with the Hawks riding in as Cup champs and off to an 8-2-3 start. The team visits the White House on Monday to be feted by U.S. President Barack Obama for its championship run.

Chicago has won two of its last three, including Tuesday's wild 6-5 win over Ottawa. In that game, Winnipegger Jonathan Toews had a natural hat trick in the second half of the game to spark the comeback, giving him seven goals on the season. The line of Toews, Patrick Sharp and Marian Hossa had nine points in the game.

Other Hawks with ties here including backup goalie Nik Khabibulin, who played the last-ever game for Winnipeg in the Jets 1.0 era; defenceman Johnny Oduya, a member of the Jets until the 2012 trade deadline when he was moved to Chicago; forward Patrick Sharp and defenceman Duncan Keith were both born in Winnipeg.

Today's game marks the second time a reigning Stanley Cup champion first appears at the MTS Centre. The Jets defeated Boston 2-1 on the other such occasion, Dec. 6, 2011.

Right-winger Michael Frolik is one of three Jets who have played with, and won Cup rings, with the Hawks. His came last June, not long before he was traded to Winnipeg. "I think it's something special," Frolik said of today's game vs. Chicago. "I am going to be connected for the rest of my life with these guys on the Cup, so it's kind of special, be nice to see these guys."


31 Ondrej Pavelec

35 Al Montoya

2 Adam Pardy

9 Evander Kane

12 Olli Jokinen

14 Anthony Peluso

15 Matt Halischuk

16 Andrew Ladd

17 James Wright

18 Bryan Little

19 Jim Slater

22 Chris Thorburn

24 Grant Clitsome

26 Blake Wheeler

27 Eric Tangradi

33 Dustin Byfuglien

39 Toby Enstrom

40 Devin Setoguchi

44 Zach Bogosian

55 Mark Scheifele

63 Ben Chiarot

67 Michael Frolik

71 Julian Melchiori



39 Nikolai Khabibulin

50 Corey Crawford

2 Duncan Keith

4 Niklas Hjalmarsson

7 Brent Seabrook

8 Nick Leddy

10 Patrick Sharp

11 Jeremy Morin

16 Marcus Kruger

17 Sheldon Brookbank

19 Jonathan Toews

20 Brandon Saad

26 Michal Handzus

27 Johnny Oduya

28 Ben Smith

29 Bryan Bickell

32 Michal Rozsival

37 Brandon Pirri

51 Brad Mills

52 Brandon Bollig

65 Andrew Shaw

81 Marian Hossa

88 Patrick Kane

-- Campbell


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more