August 20, 2017


24° C, A few clouds

Full Forecast

Record: 40 – 35 – 7

Winnipeg Jets Logo

Winnipeg Jets (40 – 35 – 7)


Advertise With Us

Game Day: Jets vs. Lightning

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 15/4/2013 (1587 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.


  • The Lightning roll into town winless in three games (0-2-1) and sporting a 6-14-1 road record, one of the worst in the NHL.
  • Goaltender Ben Bishop had started six straight games for the Lightning since being acquired from Ottawa at the trade deadline before Mathieu Garon was in net for Sunday's 3-1 loss to Buffalo. On Monday, Bishop was signed to a two-year $4.6 million contract extension.
  • Steven Stamkos has scored more goals than any NHLer since the start of the 2009-10 season (182). Over that span, the Lightning are 88-41-13 when he scores. Stamkos has been battling a shoulder injury and has just one goal in his last eight games.
  • Nate Thompson, who took a Mike Green shot to the head that shattered his visor last week, didn't play against the Sabres and was to be re-evaluated prior to tonight's game against the Jets.
  • The Lightning have the second-most potent attack in the NHL, averaging 3.14 goals per game. Only Pittsburgh, at 3.29, has scored more. On the flip side, Tampa's 3.07 goals against ranks 27th.
  • Veteran Martin St. Louis has moved into the top 100 on the NHL's all-time career points list with 904, good for 97th place. Just ahead of him on the list are Scott Stevens (908) and Gary Roberts (910).



31 Ondrej Pavelec

35 Al Montoya


3 Jacob Trouba

4 Paul Postma

5 Mark Stuart

6 Ron Hainsey

7 Derek Meech

8 Alex Burmistrov

9 Evander Kane

12 Olli Jokinen

13 Kyle Wellwood

14 Anthony Peluso

15 Mike Santorelli

16 Andrew Ladd

17 James Wright

18 Bryan Little

20 Antti Miettinen

21 Aaron Gagnon

22 Chris Thorburn

23 Arturs Kulda

24 Grant Clitsome

26 Blake Wheeler

27 Eric Tangradi

33 Dustin Byfuglien

44 Zach Bogosian



30 Ben Bishop

32 Mathieu Garon


2 Eric Brewer

3 Keith Aulie

4 Vincent Lecavalier

6 Sami Salo

8 Mark Barberio

11 Tom Pyatt

12 Ryan Malone

16 Teddy Purcell

17 Alex Killorn

19 B.J. Crombeen

25 Matthew Carle

26 Martin St. Louis

42 Dana Tyrell

44 Nate Thompson

67 Benoit Pouliot

71 Richard Panik

75 Radko Gudas

76 Pierre-Cedric Labrie

77 Victor Hedman

91 Steven Stamkos

(Lineups subject to change)


-- Ed Tait


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more