August 18, 2017


14° C, A few clouds

Full Forecast

Record: 40 – 35 – 7

Winnipeg Jets Logo

Winnipeg Jets (40 – 35 – 7)


Advertise With Us

Tonight: JETS @ BLUES

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 28/10/2013 (1389 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.


-- Coming off a 6-1 win over Nashville on Saturday, a victory that pushed the Blues' record to 6-1-2.

-- Alex Steen scored twice against the Preds and, in the process, became the first NHL player to score 10 or more goals in his team's first nine games since Buffalo's Chris Drury and Atlanta's Marian Hossa did it in the 2006-07 season.

Alex Steen

Alex Steen

"It's only nine games," Steen said after the game. "(Alex Ovechkin's) been doing it for years. I've been doing it for nine games."

-- More Steen: his numbers mean he is off to the second-fastest start in club history, tying Brett Hull with 10 goals in nine games (Hull did it twice, in 1989-90 and 1990-91). The Blues' record is held by Brian Sutter, who had 10 goals in the Blues' first eight games at the start of the 1978-79 season.

-- Both Chris Stewart and Magnus Paajarvi left the win over the Preds due to injury, but Stewart was back on the ice Monday and will play against the Jets. Paarjavi won't and is listed as day-to-day. Adam Cracknell will replace him in the lineup.

-- Jan Halak will get the start in net for the Blues after kicking out 22 of 23 shots against the Preds.



31 Ondrej Pavelec

35 Al Montoya


2 Adam Pardy

5 Mark Stuart

9 Evander Kane

12 Olli Jokinen

14 Anthony Peluso

15 Matt Halischuk

16 Andrew Ladd

17 James Wright

18 Bryan Little

22 Chris Thorburn

24 Grant Clitsome

26 Blake Wheeler

27 Eric Tangradi

28 Patrice Cormier

33 Dustin Byfuglien

39 Toby Enstrom

40 Devin Setoguchi

44 Zach Bogosian

55 Mark Scheifele

67 Michael Frolik



1 Brian Elliott

41 Jaroslav Halak


5 D Barret Jackman

9 L Jaden Schwartz

10 L Brenden Morrow

12 C Derek Roy

17 L Vladimir Sobotka

19 D Jay Bouwmeester

20 L Alexander Steen

21 C Patrik Berglund

22 D Kevin Shattenkirk

25 R Chris Stewart

27 D Alex Pietrangelo

28 D Ian Cole

33 D Jordan Leopold

40 C Maxim Lapierre

42 C David Backes

46 D Roman Polak

74 R T.J. Oshie

75 R Ryan Reaves

79 R Adam Cracknell

91 R Vladimir Tarasenko


(Lineups subject to change)


-- Ed Tait


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more