August 22, 2017


9° C, A few clouds

Full Forecast

Record: 40 – 35 – 7

Winnipeg Jets Logo

Winnipeg Jets (40 – 35 – 7)


Advertise With Us

Tonight: Jets @ Canucks

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 21/12/2013 (1339 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.


Vancouver won its third game in four days Friday night in Chicago, rallying from a 2-0 deficit to knock off the Blackhawks 3-2 following an eight-round shootout. Ryan Kesler played the hero in the shootout for the Canucks, now 8-1-1 in their last 10 and 21-11-6 overall.

Former Manitoba Moose netminder Eddie Lack was solid in picking up the win over the Hawks, kicking out 24 shots in 65 minutes. Lack is now 5-2 this season with a .927 save percentage and 1.98 GAA.

Mike Santorelli, who played 10 games for the Jets after being acquired at the trade deadline last year, has been outstanding for the Canucks after signing with his hometown team as an unrestricted free agent. He has eight goals and 18 assists and is a solid plus-14.

The Canucks have the NHL's best penalty-kill unit, having killed off 90.2 per cent. Their power-play is ranked 23rd at 14.9 per cent -- just slightly better now than the 25th-ranked Jets at 14.4.

Friday's win over Chicago means the Canucks have produced a league-leading nine wins when their opponent scored first.

Roberto Luongo ranks 15th all-time in NHL history for most shutouts (65) -- one away from tying Patrick Roy in 14th spot.


31 Ondrej Pavelec

35 Al Montoya

2 Adam Pardy

5 Mark Stuart

7 Keaton Ellerby

8 Jacob Trouba

9 Evander Kane

12 Olli Jokinen

16 Andrew Ladd

17 James Wright

18 Bryan Little

22 Chris Thorburn

24 Grant Clitsome

26 Blake Wheeler

27 Eric Tangradi

33 Dustin Byfuglien

39 Toby Enstrom

40 Devin Setoguchi

44 Zach Bogosian

55 Mark Scheifele

58 Eric O'Dell

67 Michael Frolik


1 Roberto Luongo

31 Eddie Lack

2 Dan Hamhuis

3 Kevin Bieksa

5 Jason Garrison

6 Yannick Weber

7 David Booth

8 Christopher Tanev

9 Zack Kassian

13 Jeremy Welsh

15 Brad Richardson

17 Ryan Kesler

20 Chris Higgins

21 Zac Dalpe

22 Daniel Sedin

25 Mike Santorelli

29 Tom Sestito

32 Dale Weise

33 Henrik Sedin

36 Jannik Hansen

41 Andrew Alberts

-- Ed Tait


Advertise With Us

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is be a Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscriber to join the conversation and give your feedback.

Have Your Say

New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press print or e-edition subscribers only. why?

Have Your Say

Comments are open to Winnipeg Free Press Subscribers only. why?

The Winnipeg Free Press does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. These terms were revised effective January 2015.

Photo Store

Scroll down to load more