About the Sabres

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 21/4/2013 (3362 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

About the Sabres

Buffalo was eliminated from the playoffs for the second year in a row -- and for the fourth time in the last six years -- in Friday's 8-4 loss to the Rangers.

Ryan Miller was yanked Friday and heard it from Sabres faithful during the game.

"They just want to see the team win and we haven't done it," Miller told The Buffalo News after the game. "We haven't lived up to any kind of expectation. It's been years and years of not getting it done.

"You don't win over Buffalo fans by losing hockey games and putting up mediocre seasons. The last three years have been pretty much that."

In a Buffalo News poll, 68 per cent of close to 800 respondents said Miller should be traded.

Mikhail Grigorenko will return to the lineup against the Jets, tentatively centring a line with Jochen Hecht and Nathan Gerbe. He dressed in 22 games for the Sabres this year before he was sent back to the Quebec league.

"We're going to see these next three games with Mikhail," Sabres' interim coach Ron Rolston told the Buffalo News Sunday. "He's got skill. You watch him out there, he's got big skill. It's going to be -- just like the rest of them, that we ask them every game and every practice -- just the compete.

"So we're going to see the next three games where that's at and then continue the evaluation."

The Sabres are just 3-9-2 vs. the Southeast Division this season, including a pair of losses to the Jets. Following the first loss coach Lindy Ruff was fired.

Cody Hodgson leads all NHL sophomores in scoring this season with 15 goals and 17 assists.



31 Ondrej Pavelec

35 Al Montoya


3 Jacob Trouba

4 Paul Postma

5 Mark Stuart

6 Ron Hainsey

7 Derek Meech

8 Alex Burmistrov

9 Evander Kane

12 Olli Jokinen

13 Kyle Wellwood

14 Anthony Peluso

15 Mike Santorelli

16 Andrew Ladd

17 James Wright

18 Bryan Little

20 Antti Miettinen

21 Aaron Gagnon

22 Chris Thorburn

23 Arturs Kulda

24 Grant Clitsome

26 Blake Wheeler

27 Eric Tangradi

33 Dustin Byfuglien

44 Zach Bogosian



1 Jhonas Enroth

30 Ryan Miller


5 Chad Ruhwedel

6 Mike Weber

9 Steve Ott

10 Christian Ehrhoff

12 Kevin Porter

19 Cody Hodgson

21 Drew Stafford

23 Ville Leino

25 Mikhail Grigorenko

26 Thomas Vanek

27 Adam Pardy

32 John Scott

36 Patrick Kaleta

42 Nathan Gerbe

44 Andrej Sekera

53 Mark Pysyk

55 Jochen Hecht

57 Tyler Myers

63 Tyler Ennis

65 Brian Flynn

82 Marcus Foligno

(Lineups subject to change)


-- Ed Tait