Southlake Carroll pitcher Griffin Herring tops 6A all-state


Advertise with us

BRYAN, Texas (AP) — Southlake Carroll pitcher Griffin Herring took player of the year honors on the Blue Bell/Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 6A all-state baseball team.

Read this article for free:


Already have an account? Log in here »

To continue reading, please subscribe with this special offer:

All-Access Digital Subscription

$1.50 for 150 days*

  • Enjoy unlimited reading on
  • Read the E-Edition, our digital replica newspaper
  • Access News Break, our award-winning app
  • Play interactive puzzles

*Pay $1.50 for the first 22 weeks of your subscription. After 22 weeks, price increases to the regular rate of $19.00 per month. GST will be added to each payment. Subscription can be cancelled after the first 22 weeks.

BRYAN, Texas (AP) — Southlake Carroll pitcher Griffin Herring took player of the year honors on the Blue Bell/Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 6A all-state baseball team.

Herring was 13-1 with a 0.24 earned run average in leading the Dragons to the state title. The LSU commit struck out 145 in 87 innings. He had a stretch of 47 1/3 scoreless innings and was 6-0 in the postseason.

The TSWA 6A All-State selections were:


Pitchers – Griffin Herring, Southlake Carroll, sr.; Aidan Coleman, San Antonio Reagan, jr.; Kellen Gradisar, Fort Bend Ridge Point, jr.

Reliever – Will Boylan, Coppell, sr.

Catcher – (tie) Caleb Boswell, Odessa Permian, jr.; Evan Aslaksen, Clear Falls, sr.

First baseman – Cole Johnson, Lake Travis, jr.

Second baseman – Marco Villanueva, Laredo Alexander, sr.

Shortstop – Jett Williams, Rockwall-Heath, sr.

Third baseman – Ciro Benavides, Laredo Alexander, sr.

Outfielders – Jace LaViolette, Katy Tompkins, sr.; Kasen Wells, Smithson Valley, sr.; (tie) Britton Moore, San Antonio Reagan, sr.; Trey Duffield, Houston Strake Jesuit, sr.

Designated hitter – Owen Proksch, Southlake Carroll, sr.

Player of the year – Herring, Southlake Carroll

Coach of the year – Larry Vucan, Southlake Carroll


Pitchers – Gabriel Cook, San Antonio Stevens, jr.; Tate Evans, Flower Mound Marcus, sr.; Johnny Lowe, Rockwall-Heath, sr.

Reliever – Magnus Nelson, Austin Westlake, jr.

Catcher – (tie) Julius Ramirez, PSJA, jr.; Dillon Lopez, San Antonio O’Connor, jr.

First baseman – Jack Little, Katy Tompkins, sr.

Second baseman – David Medina, Aldine MacArthur, jr.

Shortstop – Wilson Woodcox, Houston Lamar, sr.

Third baseman – (tie) Ridge Morgan, Round Rock Westwood, soph.; Mike Dattalo, Keller, sr.

Outfielders – Christian Fernandez, South Grand Prairie, sr.; Matthew Brooks, Round Rock Cedar Ridge, sr.; Stone Gomez, Weslaco, soph.

Designated hitter – (tie) Charlie Atkinson, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Vinny Cano, PSJA, soph.


Pitchers – Lucas Moore, Katy, jr.; Brayden Sharp, The Woodlands, jr.; (tie) Cade Crossland, Rockwall, sr.; Trevor Esparza, Katy Tompkins, sr.

Reliever – Grady Moore, Weatherford, sr.

Catcher – Conner Bennett, Oak Ridge, jr.

First baseman – (tie) Travis Bragg, Clear Falls, sr.; Chase Shores, Midland Legacy, sr.; Dayton Tockey, Weatherford, sr.

Second baseman – Fisher Polydoroff, Keller, soph.

Shortstop – (tie) Ryne Farber, San Antonio Johnson, jr.; Jalin Flores, San Antonio Brandeis, sr.; Chae Mora, Tomball, sr.

Third baseman – (tie) Juan Guzman, Alvin Shadow Creek, sr.; Riley Nelson, Trophy Club Byron Nelson, sr.

Outfielders – Jake Duer, Flower Mound Marcus, sr.; Viggo Lopez, PSJA, sr.; Kayson Cunningham, San Antonio Johnson, fr.

Designated hitter – Zach Spradling, Hays Consolidated, sr.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us