School trustees on the ballot


Advertise with us

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 16/10/2018 (1572 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

School trustees throughout Winnipeg are up for election on Oct. 24.

Two trustees will be elected to the River East Transcona School Division’s Ward 1. The candidates are:

Adam Burkowski — With over 10 years experience as senior data/intelligence analyst for a regional telecommunications company, Burkowski has experience involving government regulatory and corporate takeover approval. According to campaign material, Burkowski believes “a child benefits most when its well-being is attended to by people from an assortment of backgrounds, experiences and perspectives. By the same measure, we benefit when our board represents individuals from all walks of life and professions.”

Colleen Carswell — First elected as a trustee in 1992, Carswell is currently chair of the River East Transcona School Division board of trustees. She has also served on various parent councils and coached junior girls curling, and middle years boys and girls volleyball in Transcona. According to campaign material, Carswell believes in “fiscal responsibility and accountability to taxpayers” while “providing children with a safe and stimulating environment in which to learn.”

Jerry Sodomlak — A retired educator with 32 years experience as a teacher and principal, Sodomlak was elected as a school trustee in 2014. Since then, he has chaired the board’s finance, facility and transportation committee and was recently elected as Region 5 Director representing Metro school divisions on Manitoba School Board Association. Sodomlak believes it is “imperative to maintain a focus on student achievement and well-being while making decisions that benefit the entire school division.”

The RETSD’s Ward 3 will elect two trustees. The candidates are:

Jason Crampton — A longtime ward resident, Crampton works in public safety for the federal public service. If elected, Crampton said he would focus on “processing and evaluating issues that come before the school board are based on the themes of innovation, flexibility and accountability.” He would also advocate for daycare options and before- and after-school programs for students.

Brianne Goertzen — An advocate for strong public education, Goertzen is currently on the board of the Child Care Coalition of Manitoba and serves as the vice-chair on the steering committee for the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives-Manitoba. If elected, Goertzen said she is committed to “ensuring your tax dollars are well-spent and our children are prepared for a successful future.”

Roland Headley — A volunteer coach with Special Olympics and a longtime member of the Lions, Headley has made his home in the local community for over 30 years. According to campaign material, Headley believes in a strong, “free and fully funded” public school system. If elected, he hopes to enhance opportunities for students, while pledging to contribute half his trustee salary back to local school breakfast and lunch programs.

Keith Morrison — A retired educator with over 36 years of experience as a teacher, principal and assistant superintendent, Morrison believes his experience provides “a comprehensive understanding of how children learn and how the system works.” According to campaign material, Morrison’s “passion for public education” compels him in his bid to serve as school board trustee to “provide a strong voice for all.”

Ward 4 will also elect two trustees to the RETSD board. The candidates are:

Brenda Bage — An active member of her church,  Bage has also coached community sports. According to campaign material, if elected, she will be “committed to making sure our teachers have the tools they need to guide our children through these issues and challenges and lead them on to reaching their full potential.”

Robert Gigiel — A member of the board of governors of the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange, Gigiel also  been a volunteer with Folklorama, Ste. Anne’s Lubov Pre-School Parents’ Council, and Gateway Community Centre. According to campaign material, Gigiel, who has two children at Sun Valley School, believes that “in order to be relevant with respect to the issues facing our children, our elected School Trustees should have children currently attending school in the Division.”

Peter Kotyk — A founding member of Gateway Recreation Centre, Kotyk has coached a number of sports in the community. He has also volunteered with the Canadian Diabetes Association, Heart and Stroke Foundation, and the Canadian Cancer Society. According to campaign material, Kotyk is “passionate about education and student success.”

Susan Olynik — A former board member of the CNIB and the Responsible Gambling Council, Olynik is a recently retired executive with Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries who has volunteered on parent councils and as a youth sports coach in River East for many years. According to campaign material, Olynik hopes to “bring a fresh perspective to the board of trustees and is able to devote time to this significant role” if elected.

Trustees elected by acclamation

In Ward 2, Rod Giesbrecht and John Toews were elected by acclamation, as was Michael West in Ward 5.
Ward 7 of the Winnipeg School Division, which includes a number of elementary schools in Elmwood and Elmwood High School, elected Arlene Reid to the board of trustees by acclamation.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us

The Herald