News in brief: 10th annual Kendra’s Walk happening May 25


Advertise with us

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 14/05/2018 (1840 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

10th annual Kendra’s Walk happening May 25

A walk in honour of teen who helped create a new standard for children’s cancer care is marking its 10 year anniversary.

Kendra’s Walk will happen on May 25  beginning at St. John’s-Ravenscourt (400 South Dr.) at 2 p.m.

Supplied photo The tenth annual Kendra’s Walk will happen on May 25 beginning at St. John’s-Ravenscourt (400 South Dr.) at 2 p.m.

In 2009, Kendra McBain was diagnosed with alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma, a rare form of cancer at age 15. While receiving treatment, she began fundraising to create a space for teenagers at CancerCare Manitoba.

The inaugural walk happened May 29, 2009 and raised $160,000 to establish a place for teens fighting cancer and support the Teens Living with Cancer program.

Kendra died in December 2009 at 18 years old. To date, the walk has raised over $750,000.

This year money donated will go towards the Terry Fox Precision Oncology For Young People project, which aims to give children, adolescents and young adults who have exhausted treatment options another chance to beat their cancer.

To donate towards the cause and support the walk go to or

University of Manitoba to give Cindy Blackstock, Arnold Frieman honorary degrees

The University of Manitoba is preparing for its 139th convocation and has announced this spring’s honorary degree recipients.

On May 24, during the Max Rady College of Medicine convocation at 10 a.m., Martin Joel Yaffe will be recognized. Yaffe is a researcher in digital mammography.

Later that day during the School of Dental Hygiene, College of Dentistry, College of Pharmacy graduation, Cindy Blackstock will be honoured.

Blackstock is an outspoken advocate for the rights of Indigenous children and their families.

On Tues., June 5, at 2:30 p.m. former Canadian Senator, the Hon. Janis Guðrún Johnson will be recognizes at the Graduate Studies (PhD, MA, MPAdm) and Arts convocation.

Other honorary degree recipients include Glen Alan Jones, a scholar on post-secondary education; Janet Rossant, a stem cell researcher and president and scientific director of the Gairdner Foundation; Richard G. Henriquez, a Canadian architect and outstanding urban designer; elder Mary Elizabeth Courchene, a distinguished Indigenous educator and residential school survivor; and Arnold Frieman president of Advance Electronics in Winnipeg.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us

The Sou'wester