City councillor and school trustee candidates set for the southwest


Advertise with us

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 24/09/2018 (1533 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

The nomination period to run for city council closed on Sept. 18 and a slate of candidates have put their names forward for consideration by voters in southwest Winnipeg.

In Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry, there is no incumbent running after longtime councillor Jenny Gerbasi decided not to seek re-election.

Candidates in this ward include:
• Peter Koroma;
• Stephanie Meilleur;
• Jeff Palmer;
• Sherri Rollins;
• Bryanna Spina;
• Michael Thompson; and
• Harry Wolbert.

The Charleswood-Tuxedo ward will also be selecting a new city councillor. Former councillor Marty Morantz is not seeking re-election to pursue the Conservative nomination in the federal riding of Charleswood-St.James-Assiniboia-Headingley.

Candidates in this ward include:
• Kevin Klein;
• Kevin Nichols;
• Grant Nordman; and
• Ken St. George.

There is a three-way race in River Heights-Fort Garry, including candidates Gary Lenko, Garth Steek, and incumbent John Orlikow.

Farther south in the newly formed ward of St. Norbert-Seine River, there are five candidates seeking election with no incumbent.

Candidates are:
• Markus Chambers;
• Glenn Churchill;
• Nancy Cooke;
• Chris Davis; and
• Nikolas Joyal.

Lastly, in the brand new ward of Waverley West, former councillor for South Winnipeg-St. Norbert Janice Lukes has been acclaimed.

At the deadline date, no other candidates had registered.

The civic election happens on Oct. 24.

School trustee candidates up for consideration

Voters in the Pembina Trails School Division have a number of candidates to consider on Oct. 24.
In Ward 1, which includes Charleswood, three trustees will be elected. The candidates are:
• Corey Burgess;
• Jaime Glenat (incumbent);
• Gerry Melnyk (incumbent);
• Jessica Perry;
• Dianne Zuk (incumbent); and
• Sam Zurzolo.

In Ward 2, which includes Tuxedo, Whyte Ridge, Linden Woods,  and Fort Garry, three trustees will be elected. The candidates are:  
• Sheila Billinghurst (incumbent);
• Andrew Harder;
• David Johnson (incumbent);
• Tim Johnson (incumbent); and
• Sukh Singh.

In Ward 3, which includes Fort Richmond and Waverley West, three trustees will be elected. The candidates are:
• Jasmine Brar;
• Julie Fisher (incumbent);
• Laureen Goodridge (incumbent);
• Alia Harb;
• Laurie Lazer-McCorrie;
• Kathleen McMillan (incumbent);
• Cindy Nachtigall;
• Yunusa Salami; and
• Simon Strauman.

In the Winnipeg School Division, voters in southwest Winnipeg will consider candidates in three wards.
In Ward 1, which includes south River Heights and Grant Park, one trustee will be elected and the candidates are:
• Jamie Dumont; and
• Bruce Kemp.

In Ward 2, which includes Osborne Village, Riverview, and Lord Roberts, one trustee will be elected. The candidates are:
• Chris Broughton (incumbent); and
• Michael Cardillo.

In Ward 3, which includes north River Heights and Earl Grey, only one candidate has been nominated. Mark Wasilyw stands for acclamation in the ward.

And in the far south of the city, the Seine River School Division Ward 1 candidates have been nominated. The ward includes La Salle School, Parc La Salle School, La Barrière Crossings School, École St. Norbert, and Collège St. Norbert Collegiate. Three trustees will be elected.

The candidates are:
• Wendy Bloomfield (incumbent);
• Gary Nelson (incumbent);
• Neil Reavely;
• Warren Reavely; and
• Greg Reid (incumbent).

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us