Civic election candidate deadline looms


Advertise with us

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 14/09/2022 (263 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.


Civic election candidate deadline looms

With the 2022 City of Winnipeg municipal and school boards election scheduled for Wed., Oct. 26, the race for mayor is heating up, and a number of candidates for council have registered since June 30.

As of Sept. 9, Idris Ademuyiwa Adelakun, Rana Bokhari, Christopher Clacio, Scott Gillingham, Kevin Klein, Shaun Loney, Jennifer Motkaluk, Glen Murray, Robert-Falcon Ouellette, Jessica Peebles, Rick Shone, Govind Thawani, Desmond Thomas, and Don Woodstock were all registered as candidates for mayor.

As of Sept. 9, registered candidates in the Oct. 26 city council elections were as follows (listed by ward):

Charleswood – Tuxedo: Hal Anderson; Evan Duncan; Brad Gross; Gordon Penner.

Daniel McIntyre: Cindy Gilroy (incumbent); Salvatore Infantino; Omar Kinnarath.

Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry: Sherri Rollins (incumbent).

Mynarski: Ross Eadie (incumbent); Aaron McDowell; Natalie Smith; Steve Snyder.

Old Kildonan: Devi Sharma (incumbent).

Point Douglas: Moe Eltassi; Joe Pereira; Vivian Santos (incumbent).

River Heights-Fort Garry: Brant Field; Gary Lenko; John Orlikow (incumbent).

St. James: Eddie Ayoub; Tim Diack; Shawn Dobson; Daevid Ramey; Kelly Ryback.

Waverley West: Janice Lukes (incumbent); Pascal Scott.

The deadline for registration is Tues., Sept. 20 at 4:30 p.m. A list of requirements can be found in the city’s campaign expenses and contributions guide. Candidates must register prior to soliciting or collecting any campaign funding, expending any funds on their campaign (such as advertising), or borrowing funds.

More information is available by visiting or by contacting 311.

— Staff

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us