News in brief: Fontaine, Smith hold onto seats; NDP newcomers elected in Notre Dame, Burrows


Advertise with us

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 16/09/2019 (1105 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

Much of northwest Winnipeg remained orange after election night.

Incumbents Nahanni Fontaine (St. Johns) and Bernadette Smith (Point Douglas) were re-elected to the Legislature, and will be joined by newcomer Malaya Marcelino, who won in Notre Dame, as well as Mintu Sandhu in The Maples.

Fontaine won with 3,526 votes, well ahead of her nearest competitor, Progressive Conservative candidate Ray Larkin, who received 1,665 votes. Also in the race was the Liberals’ Eddie Calisto-Tavares (1,092) and the Green Party of Manitoba’s Joshua McNeil (601). Voter turnout in St. Johns was 49.7 per cent.

MIKAELA MACKENZIE / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS files The Manitoba NDP was successful on election night in many parts of northwest Winnipeg. Candidate Nahanni Fontaine was elected in St. Johns.

In a packed race for Point Douglas, Smith won in a landslide, taking 3,002 votes. PC candidate Michele Redmond received 757 votes, Liberal Richard Sanderson received 565, and the Greens’ Jenn Kess received 358. Micheal Wenuik, running for Manitoba Forward, received 66, and Communist Party of Canada (Manitoba) candidate Fagie Fainman received 44. Point Douglas turnout was 37.9 per cent.

In Notre Dame, Malaya Marcelino is the NDP MLA for the newly created riding. Marcelino won in a landslide victory with 3,361 votes, around 65 per cent of the total votes. Marsha Street, running for the PCs, trailed behind Marcelino with 789 votes. Also running were MLP candidate Donovan Martin (702); Green candidate MJ Willard (263); CPC-M candidate Andrew Taylor (32); and Manitoba Forward’s Margaret Sturby (28). Voter turnout in Notre Dame was 43. 5 per cent.

In Burrows, Diljeet Brar was victorious with 2,536 votes, beating out the PCs’ Jasmine Brar (1,680), MLP’s Sarb Gill (1,170) and Manitoba Forward’s Edda  Pangilinan (1,020). Voter turnout in Burrows was 46.7 per cent.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us