Congratulating local Honour 150 recipients


Advertise with us

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 01/04/2021 (790 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

Honour 150 recognizes Manitobans who work on behalf of their local communities in a multitude of ways. Folks are nominated by their own communities, and truly exemplify how many amazing people there are in the province.

I would like to highlight a few folks from Union Station who were recognized as Honour 150 recipients. Their names are Alaya McIvor, Vivienne Ho, Sylvia Todaschuk, Dr. Ernest Cholakis, and Robert Williams.

Alaya McIvor works tirelessly to bring awareness of the exploitation, human trafficking, and violence committed against and experienced by Indigenous women, girls and two-spirit people.

Mike Deal / Winnipeg Free Press Vivienne Ho is the driving force behind two marches: Women’s March Winnipeg and Take Back the Night. Vivienne was recently named one of the Honour 150, a Manitoba 150 initiative that recognizes 150 people from across the province “who stand out for their role in making Manitoba such an amazing province.”

Alaya has been an organizer for the MMIWG2S Women’s Memorial March and the MMIWG2S Mother’s Day Memorial walk for the past four years. Alaya’s leadership in the community is immense and her work will continue to create lasting changes in the province.

Vivienne Ho has been the lead organizer for the last two Women’s Marches in Winnipeg.

Vivienne helped revive Manitoba’s Take Back the Night which raises awareness about violence committed against women. Vivienne is a force behind many initiatives for human and women’s rights in the province.

Sylvia Todaschuk has spent her life advocating and supporting cultural diversity, pride, and understanding for folks of different backgrounds across Manitoba. Sylvia is a leader in the Ukrainian community, serving as president for the Selkirk Ave BIZ for 24 years, and is an avid volunteer for church events and with art organizations in Manitoba.

Dr. Ernest Cholakis has contributed to several public health initiatives over the last 40 years, including projects that promote education for parents and children surrounding oral hygiene practice and healthy nutrition habits. Dr. Cholakis also created and first chaired the Open Wide campaigns, which assist Manitobans unable to afford primary dental care.

Robert is a founding member of the Assiniboine Park Conservancy. Robert has been on several boards, including the Manitoba Board of Nature Conservancy of Canada and the National Board for the Nature Conservancy of Canada. Robert is proud of his efforts to help initiate interest and support the creation of the Assiniboine Park Zoo’s Journey to Churchill Polar Bear exhibit.

Congratulations to Alaya, Vivienne, Sylvia, Dr. Cholakis, and Robert as Honour 150 recipients.

Thank you for your contributions to the community of Union Station and Manitoba.

If you’d like to connect with my office, don’t hesitate to reach out. The constituency office is located at Unit 1-331 Smith St. The phone number is 204-306-8581 and email is

Uzoma Asagwara

Uzoma Asagwara
Union Station constituency report

Uzoma Asagwara is the NDP MLA for Union Station.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us

The Times