Longtime cop, former mayoral candidate taking run at St. James council seat


Advertise with us

A Winnipeg police officer who finished third in 2018’s mayoral race is running for city council.

Read this article for free:


Already have an account? Log in here »

To continue reading, please subscribe:

Monthly Digital Subscription

$4.75 per week*

  • Enjoy unlimited reading on winnipegfreepress.com
  • Read the E-Edition, our digital replica newspaper
  • Access News Break, our award-winning app
  • Play interactive puzzles

*Billed as $19.00 plus GST every four weeks. Cancel anytime.

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 13/08/2022 (288 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

A Winnipeg police officer who finished third in 2018’s mayoral race is running for city council.

Tim Diack, who has been a Point Douglas beat officer for 35 years, registered Friday to run for the council seat in St. James.

He finished behind Mayor Brian Bowman and Jenny Motkaluk in 2018, with just under five per cent of the vote.

Diack, who describes himself as a Red Tory, said his main concern in the race is public safety.

“It’s got to a point — twice yesterday guys in my unit, I work in the North End, we wrestled loaded firearms off of two people,” he said.

“In the last few months, it is just ridiculous out there… I don’t think people grasp exactly how bad it is.”

He said the call by former mayor Glen Murray — who is running for the top job again — to ground the police helicopter in favour of drones and community policing incited him to register.

Diack said he plans to put out a detailed policy plan soon.

The St. James seat is currently held by Coun. Scott Gillingham, who is also running for mayor.

Four others have also registered to run in St. James: former city councillor Shawn Dobson, Ikea communications manager and cycling advocate Daevid Ramey, Art City artistic director Eddie Ayoub and retired information technology businessman Kelly Ryback.

Sept. 20 is the council and mayoral nomination deadline. The election is Oct. 26.

— staff

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us