Memorial to open waiting list to fans

Advertisement

Advertise with us

DUBLIN, Ohio (AP) — The Memorial Tournament is activating its waiting list for tickets and likely will have the biggest crowd since the return of golf from the COVID-19 pandemic nearly a year ago.

Read this article for free:


or

Already have an account? Log in here »

To continue reading, please subscribe:

Subscribe and receive a limited-edition Free Press branded hat or tote.

Digital Subscription

One year of digital access for only $205*

  • Enjoy unlimited reading on winnipegfreepress.com
  • Read the E-Edition, our digital replica newspaper
  • Access News Break, our award-winning app
  • Play interactive puzzles

*First annual payment billed as $205.00 + GST for one year. This annual subscription will automatically renew at $233.00 + GST every 52 weeks (10% off the regular annual price of $259.35). Offer available to new and qualified returning subscribers only. Cancel any time.

To continue reading, please subscribe:

Add Free Press access to your Brandon Sun subscription for only an additional

$1 for the first 4 weeks*

  • Enjoy unlimited reading on winnipegfreepress.com
  • Read the E-Edition, our digital replica newspaper
  • Access News Break, our award-winning app
  • Play interactive puzzles
Start now

*Your next Brandon Sun subscription payment will increase by $1.00 and you will be charged $17.95 plus GST for four weeks. After four weeks, your payment will increase to $24.95 plus GST every four weeks.

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 21/05/2021 (1960 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

DUBLIN, Ohio (AP) — The Memorial Tournament is activating its waiting list for tickets and likely will have the biggest crowd since the return of golf from the COVID-19 pandemic nearly a year ago.

The tournament Jack Nicklaus founded said Friday it will allow people on its waiting list the chance to buy weekly badges for the June 3-6 tournament at Muirfield Village.

The number of ticket sales was not disclosed.

A tournament spokesman says capacity is expected to be more than 50%, without being a complete sellout. The Memorial is one of the premier PGA Tour events that typically attracts some of the largest galleries except for majors.

In a statement, the tournament said it established a waiting list of “our most loyal patrons.” Based on CDC recommendations and in cooperation with the PGA Tour and government leaders, they now can buy weekly tickets.

The Memorial was prepared to allow spectators last July and had a parking and routing plan approved by the state. It was decided in the days leading up to the tournament to keep spectators away.

The PGA Championship this week at Kiawah Island has allowed about 10,000 fans, and that’s roughly been the estimate for most tournaments since fans were allowed back around the start of the Florida Swing.

The Houston Open last fall had 2,000 fans, while the Phoenix Open in early February allowed for about 5,000 spectators.

The Masters did not release how many spectators were allowed last month, though it was believed to be about 8,000.

Earlier this week, PGA of America officials said they were hopeful of a full house for the Ryder Cup in Wisconsin the last weekend in September.

Report Error Submit a Tip

More Stories

Memorial to open waiting list to fans

The Associated Press 2 minute read Friday, May. 21, 2021

DUBLIN, Ohio (AP) — The Memorial Tournament is activating its waiting list for tickets and likely will have the biggest crowd since the return of golf from the COVID-19 pandemic nearly a year ago.

The tournament Jack Nicklaus founded said Friday it will allow people on its waiting list the chance to buy weekly badges for the June 3-6 tournament at Muirfield Village.

The number of ticket sales was not disclosed.

A tournament spokesman says capacity is expected to be more than 50%, without being a complete sellout. The Memorial is one of the premier PGA Tour events that typically attracts some of the largest galleries except for majors.

Dynacare workers provide essential services that must be maintained during strike, labour board rules

Nicole Buffie 5 minute read Preview

Dynacare workers provide essential services that must be maintained during strike, labour board rules

Nicole Buffie 5 minute read Updated: Yesterday at 6:30 PM CDT

The Manitoba Labour Board has ruled Dynacare workers are essential employees and their services must be maintained during a labour dispute.

Read
Updated: Yesterday at 6:30 PM CDT

Kent Monkman debuts beaver sculpture in Toronto’s ambitious new waterfront park

Alex Nino Gheciu, The Canadian Press 2 minute read Preview

Kent Monkman debuts beaver sculpture in Toronto’s ambitious new waterfront park

Alex Nino Gheciu, The Canadian Press 2 minute read Wednesday, Sep. 30, 2026

TORONTO - Kent Monkman’s first-ever public art installation is dam good.

The celebrated Cree artist’s new permanent sculpture, dubbed “The Colony,” debuts Wednesday in Toronto’s east end.

The 15-foot-high bronze structure features beavers dancing, feasting and celebrating, evoking Indigenous ceremonies.

It highlights the vital role of beavers in the natural, Indigenous and colonial histories of Turtle Island, says a release.

Read
Wednesday, Sep. 30, 2026

Letters, Oct. 2

6 minute read 2:00 AM CDT

Are clinical psychologists next?

Re: Province hires 17 psychiatrists to work in Winnipeg, Selkirk (Sept. 25)

Manitoba’s government has shown that it knows how to solve a specialist staffing crisis in health care. Clinical psychologists are still left to wonder when it will be their turn.

The Manitoba Psychological Society (MPS) welcomes the recent announcement of 17 new psychiatrists in the public system. Any investment in mental health deserves to be celebrated, especially in light of the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health’s report card that was released in August 2026. Manitoba received overall grades of F and D for mental health and substance use health, respectively. Although disappointing, this is not surprising given that Manitoba spends five to six per cent of its health budget on mental health and addictions, about half the recommended rate of 12 per cent.

J’accuse!: Kinew uses French to fry interim Tory leader over alleged caucus subterfuge

Chris Kitching and Maggie Macintosh 4 minute read Preview

J’accuse!: Kinew uses French to fry interim Tory leader over alleged caucus subterfuge

Chris Kitching and Maggie Macintosh 4 minute read Yesterday at 5:55 PM CDT

NDP Premier Wab Kinew took a dig at the Progressive Conservatives’ leadership change while facing off with Obby Khan’s short-term replacement for the first time in question period Thursday.

It came after interim Tory leader Konrad Narth accused the New Democrats of failing to implement “stronger” bail reform and enforcement measures as promised.

“Now we see there is less crime in Manitoba than there was when the Progressive Conservatives were in government. What are they doing now? Well, they found knives and chased their old leader out,” Kinew said, speaking in French.

“We don’t even know who’s going to be the PC leader next month… next year? We don’t know. What we know is that we’re working on making communities safer.”

Read
Yesterday at 5:55 PM CDT

Man who killed two Indigenous women, was accused of killing third, back in prison less than year after statutory release

Erik Pindera 4 minute read Preview

Man who killed two Indigenous women, was accused of killing third, back in prison less than year after statutory release

Erik Pindera 4 minute read Yesterday at 4:06 PM CDT

A Winnipeg man convicted of killing two First Nations women more than a decade ago — with charges stayed in a third slaying — has been sent back to prison less than a year after he left under conditions.

Parole Board of Canada officials revoked 67-year-old Shawn Lamb’s statutory release after a hearing last week.

“Your actions are not beyond your control, yet you continue to wilfully make poor decisions that place the public at risk,” board member Arun Kundu-Thomsen wrote in a decision released this week.

Lamb gained statutory release — a legislated conditional release most federal inmates automatically qualify for after serving two-thirds of their sentence — in November last year and lived in several Ontario facilities for federal offenders.

Read
Yesterday at 4:06 PM CDT