Columnists

Meet the new health-care deal… same as the old health-care deal

Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Yesterday at 7:00 PM CST

The federal government’s claim it will have more say over how the provinces spend money on health care is mostly political fiction.

Advertisement

Advertise With Us

Weather

This afternoon: Mainly cloudy 0°c Mainly cloudy This evening: Mainly cloudy -1°c Mainly cloudy

Winnipeg MB
-3°C, Overcast

Full Forecast

Parks are nice; having people living nearby to enjoy them is nicer

Dan Lett 5 minute read Preview

Parks are nice; having people living nearby to enjoy them is nicer

Dan Lett 5 minute read Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

You think we would have learned our lesson.

Read
Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

MIKE DEAL / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS Looking South at King Street and Notre Dame Avenue. A new proposal aims to revamp Smith Street, realigning some of its lanes that lead to Notre Dame Avenue to make room for a much bigger Odeon Park and potential plaza. The proposal was raised by True North, which is expected to come up with conceptual designs. See Joyanne Pursaga story 230201 - Wednesday, {month name} 01, 2023.

Pamela Anderson, in her own image

Jen Zoratti 5 minute read Preview

Pamela Anderson, in her own image

Jen Zoratti 5 minute read Yesterday at 6:00 AM CST

There are so many versions of Pamela Anderson.

Read
Yesterday at 6:00 AM CST

Pamela Anderson is taking back her image, her narrative, her sexuality, and her power via a new Netflix documentary, Pamela, A Love Story. (Francois Mori / The Associated Press files)

Revealing past betrayals hurts in here and now

Maureen Scurfield 5 minute read Preview

Revealing past betrayals hurts in here and now

Maureen Scurfield 5 minute read 2:00 AM CST

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: Over too many drinks, my best friend recently told me that when we were teenagers, she slept with two of my boyfriends. Not one, but two!

Read
2:00 AM CST

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: Over too many drinks, my best friend recently told me that when we were teenagers, she slept with two of my boyfriends. Not one, but two!

The truth will avert long-distance train wreck

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Preview

The truth will avert long-distance train wreck

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Yesterday at 2:00 AM CST

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I can’t believe how I let things go this far. For fun, I started online-dating a man from another country across the Atlantic, never thinking it’d progress to something big. My problem is I made myself out to be this exciting person I’m definitely not.

Read
Yesterday at 2:00 AM CST

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I can’t believe how I let things go this far. For fun, I started online-dating a man from another country across the Atlantic, never thinking it’d progress to something big. My problem is I made myself out to be this exciting person I’m definitely not.

Jones Manitoba’s greatest athlete

Mike McIntyre 5 minute read Preview

Jones Manitoba’s greatest athlete

Mike McIntyre 5 minute read Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

Jennifer Jones has already proven herself to be the greatest curler in Manitoba’s storied history. Her latest provincial championship last week only added to her lore, and the 48-year-old Winnipegger is now preparing to skip a team at the Scotties Tournament of Hearts for an absurd 17th time in her decorated career.

Read
Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

John Woods / Winnipeg Free Press files

Skip Jennifer Jones (second from left) is headed to her 17th Scotties Tournament of Hearts with teammates Emily Zacharias (left), Mackenzie Zacharias and Karlee Burgess (right).

The kids (and parents) are all right

Shelley Cook 4 minute read Preview

The kids (and parents) are all right

Shelley Cook 4 minute read Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

My sister recently went out with some old friends and colleagues for a reunion-type gathering that happens every couple of years. (Her and I used to work together at the same organization, though I wasn’t in her department.)

Read
Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

My sister recently went out with some old friends and colleagues for a reunion-type gathering that happens every couple of years. (Her and I used to work together at the same organization, though I wasn’t in her department.)

Solid plan can ease process of daughter leaving nest

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Preview

Solid plan can ease process of daughter leaving nest

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I thought some of my friends were cruel when they’d say to their 18-year-olds: “Now’s the time for you to find a place of your own and start to be an adult!”

Read
Monday, Feb. 6, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I thought some of my friends were cruel when they’d say to their 18-year-olds: “Now’s the time for you to find a place of your own and start to be an adult!”

Anti-marriage philosophy a little too persuasive

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Preview

Anti-marriage philosophy a little too persuasive

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Sunday, Feb. 5, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I have been living with this wonderful man for several years. When I met him, I’d just gotten out of a rotten marriage, and I wanted nothing to do with rings and weddings. Well, surprise, surprise! My live-in has turned out to be the man of my dreams and, although I said I’d had enough of marriage after my first husband, I don’t feel that way now.

Read
Sunday, Feb. 5, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I have been living with this wonderful man for several years. When I met him, I’d just gotten out of a rotten marriage, and I wanted nothing to do with rings and weddings. Well, surprise, surprise! My live-in has turned out to be the man of my dreams and, although I said I’d had enough of marriage after my first husband, I don’t feel that way now.

Better tools, better management, greater benefit

Laura Rance 4 minute read Preview

Better tools, better management, greater benefit

Laura Rance 4 minute read Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Reporters on the farm meeting circuit have been picking up on anecdotal reports of farmers questioning the value of their investments in agricultural research through commodity checkoffs.

Read
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Reporters on the farm meeting circuit have been picking up on anecdotal reports of farmers questioning the value of their investments in agricultural research through commodity checkoffs.

Breaking down this year’s diverse slate of films vying for the Best Picture Oscar

Alison Gillmor 6 minute read Preview

Breaking down this year’s diverse slate of films vying for the Best Picture Oscar

Alison Gillmor 6 minute read Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

The Oscar nominations were announced on Jan. 24, and this year’s wide-open Best Picture field includes critics’ darlings and box-office smashes, outré art-house satires and popcorn action sequels. In an unpredictable race, here are a few (tentative) predictions:

Read
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) in "Avatar: The Way of Water." (Courtesy 20th Century Studios/TNS)

Can’t take it with you, so savour Open That Bottle Night

Ben Sigurdson 5 minute read Preview

Can’t take it with you, so savour Open That Bottle Night

Ben Sigurdson 5 minute read Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Seventeen (!) years of writing about wine and drinks have seen all manner of wine, beer and spirits cross my desk. Most are tasted for the purposes of this column, some for “research” purposes and occasionally, I’ll crack something open for simple enjoyment.

Read
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Fixed income makes comeback

Joel Schlesinger 5 minute read Preview

Fixed income makes comeback

Joel Schlesinger 5 minute read Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Bonds — money investors lend to corporations and governments — have been a relatively raw deal for the last decade, and even more so last year.

Read
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

Dig a little deeper into what truly attracts you

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Preview

Dig a little deeper into what truly attracts you

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I’m in my early 40s and single again. I just went through some old Valentine’s Day cards — nothing like torturing myself. I realized there’s something weird in my head. The names of my major boyfriends all started with an ‘R.’ They were Randy, Rick, Ronnie and Robert. Isn’t that crazy? When I put their pictures side-by-side, there are other similarities — sandy brown hair, green eyes, they wear a lot of jeans and boots, and they all seem to love the outdoors.

Read
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I’m in my early 40s and single again. I just went through some old Valentine’s Day cards — nothing like torturing myself. I realized there’s something weird in my head. The names of my major boyfriends all started with an ‘R.’ They were Randy, Rick, Ronnie and Robert. Isn’t that crazy? When I put their pictures side-by-side, there are other similarities — sandy brown hair, green eyes, they wear a lot of jeans and boots, and they all seem to love the outdoors.

Voters likely to see through Tories’ sudden burst of generosity

By Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Preview

Voters likely to see through Tories’ sudden burst of generosity

By Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

This week’s public school funding announcement was a sneak preview of what the Stefanson government’s 2023 provincial budget will probably look like, as the Tories open the purse strings before the next election.

Read
Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

Education Minister Wayne Ewasko announced a 6.1 per cent boost to school divisions’ operating budgets for 2023-24, the largest increase in at least 25 years. (Ruth Bonneville / Winnipeg Free Press)

Plenty of intrigue this weekend in Netherlands, Belgium soccer leagues

Jerrad Peters 6 minute read Preview

Plenty of intrigue this weekend in Netherlands, Belgium soccer leagues

Jerrad Peters 6 minute read Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

Watching sports can be an enjoyable, even meaningful, investment of time. As many of us know all too well, the ever-expanding content pool, inevitably spread thin over numerous streaming services, can also max out a credit card. It’s a scenario especially true of world football, what with the sheer breadth of it.

Read
Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

DAVID CATRY / BELGA PHOTO

Brugge’s Tajon Buchanan toils in a Jupiler Pro League match between Club Brugge KV and Sporting Charleroi.

Bye, bye Bettman and 11 other ways to improve the NHL

Mike McIntyre 7 minute read Preview

Bye, bye Bettman and 11 other ways to improve the NHL

Mike McIntyre 7 minute read Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

You can expect NHL commissioner Gary Bettman will do his very best on Saturday to downplay any problems happening under his watch as he speaks with media prior to the NHL All-Star game in sunny Florida.

Read
Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

After running the show since 1993, it's time NHL commissioner Gary Bettman finally retires. (Graham Hughes / The Canadian Press files)

Succession shocker may be a blessing in disguise

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Preview

Succession shocker may be a blessing in disguise

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I got some news recently that really shook me up! I thought I could go into my dad’s business after high school, learn the ropes and end up running the operation. But today, he asked me where I want to go to school after graduation, and what I want to study! I’m in Grade 11 now.

Read
Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I got some news recently that really shook me up! I thought I could go into my dad’s business after high school, learn the ropes and end up running the operation. But today, he asked me where I want to go to school after graduation, and what I want to study! I’m in Grade 11 now.

Travelling more difficult with emotional baggage

Deborah Schnitzer 7 minute read Preview

Travelling more difficult with emotional baggage

Deborah Schnitzer 7 minute read Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

At the beginning of this new year, I travelled to Ontario hoping to spend some time with my son and his husband, two of my most favourite people, a couple I married. (How often does a mother get to do that?)

Read
Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

Leadership selection changes should be at top of provincial Tories’ to-do list

Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Preview

Leadership selection changes should be at top of provincial Tories’ to-do list

Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023

Candice Bergen’s resignation Wednesday as the Conservative MP for Portage-Lisgar was a friendly reminder to Manitoba’s Progressive Conservative party that it may want to change its leadership election rules before the end of the year.

Read
Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023

ADRIAN WYLD / CANADIAN PRESS FILES

Outgoing Conservative Interim Leader Candice Bergen speaks before the new leader is announced, Saturday, Sept. 10, 2022 in Ottawa.

Call out post-op gossip, but keep things civil

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Preview

Call out post-op gossip, but keep things civil

Maureen Scurfield 4 minute read Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I had some “work” done on my face pre-COVID, and a person who is not my close friend, found out somehow about my facelift. Having no real facts, she built a false story about my surgery, got things wrong and then made the mistake of telling people.

Read
Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: I had some “work” done on my face pre-COVID, and a person who is not my close friend, found out somehow about my facelift. Having no real facts, she built a false story about my surgery, got things wrong and then made the mistake of telling people.

They gotta fight for their right to folly

Dan Lett 5 minute read Preview

They gotta fight for their right to folly

Dan Lett 5 minute read Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2023

It may be the ultimate irony. Months after most restrictions have been lifted, anti-vaccine, anti-mask, anti-pandemic restriction militants are filling courtrooms across the country to fight tickets and fines issued during the early days of the COVID-19 public-health threat.

Read
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2023

JESSICA LEE / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS

The Law Courts of Manitoba are photographed on January 3, 2023. Reporter: Erik Pindera

Wife’s full-on business obsession calls for candour

Maureen Scurfield 5 minute read Preview

Wife’s full-on business obsession calls for candour

Maureen Scurfield 5 minute read Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: My young wife used to lack self-confidence, but since she started working with this new woman at her sales job, she’s been acting weirdly confident. She’s bought a new wardrobe — a lot of bold red and black — and now she dresses up every day.

Read
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2023

DEAR MISS LONELYHEARTS: My young wife used to lack self-confidence, but since she started working with this new woman at her sales job, she’s been acting weirdly confident. She’s bought a new wardrobe — a lot of bold red and black — and now she dresses up every day.

Morrissey born to lead

Mike McIntyre 5 minute read Preview

Morrissey born to lead

Mike McIntyre 5 minute read Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023

It was Josh Morrissey’s finest moment in what has been a magical NHL season so far.

With his Winnipeg Jets staring a fourth straight loss in the face heading into an extended break, the 27-year-old defenceman single-handedly changed the course of Monday’s meeting with the St. Louis Blues.

A dazzling individual effort, just 40 seconds after the visitors had extended their lead to 2-0 early in the third period, brought Winnipeg within a goal. It was what happened next that really stood out.

Read
Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023

FRED GREENSLADE / THE CANADIAN PRESS

The Jets’ all-star defenceman Josh Morrissey brought the crowd to life with his scoring and all-around play in Monday’s victory over the St. Louis Blues.

Two out of three at health-care table not good enough

Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Preview

Two out of three at health-care table not good enough

Tom Brodbeck 4 minute read Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023

Great things happen when Indigenous communities have control over their own affairs, be it in health care, child welfare or economic development.

Read
Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023

MIKAELA MACKENZIE / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS FILES

Manitoba’s Southern Chiefs’ Organization held a news conference Monday demanding a seat at the first ministers conference.

LOAD MORE